Skip to Main Content

Chicago (17th ed.) Style Guide: Streaming Videos

An introductory guide to creating notes and bibliography entries in accordance with the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2017).

 

 

NOTES ENTRY — Streaming Videos

 

    USED FOR:

  • Citing documentary or educational videos located in a library database or on the Web. This is not for films intended as entertainment.


    GUIDANCE:

Include the following content in the order given below:

  • Speaker or director name(s).
  • Title (or description if no title given) of the video.
  • Producing entity.
  • Title (or description if no title given) of the database or website.
  • Publication date. If none given, include your date of access.
  • The word "video."
  • Run time.
  • URL.


    EXAMPLES:

  1. Morwenna Ludlow, "Women Leaders in Early Christianity," lecture recorded at Gresham College, April 5, 2023, accessed September 20, 2023, video, 59:34, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyrMnrPGO1A. [video with a recording date on the Web]
  2. Ned Rodgers, dir., The Reformation, produced by Cerebellum Corporation, Films on Demand, accessed January 17, 2020, video, 29:45, https://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=19231&xtid=154913. [video in a library database]
  3. Geoffrey Sayre-McCord, "What is Justice?," produced by the Institute for Humane Studies, October 16, 2020, video, 8:48, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViAp5lEYu5k. [video with a posting date on the Web]
  4. Jocelyn Demers, dir., Climate Change Babies, produced by Jocelyn Demers and Monde Films, Alexander Street, accessed March 28, 2021, video, 45:00, https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/climate-change-babies. [video in a library database]
  5. "Soil Health Featured in the Southwest," produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Farmers.gov, accessed February 13, 2023, video, 1:57, https://www.farmers.gov/blog/soil-health-how-video-series. [video without a date on the Web]

 

 

SHORTENED NOTES ENTRY (REPEATED SOURCES) — Streaming Videos

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Ludlow, "Women Leaders."
  2. Rodgers, The Reformation.
  3. Sayre-McCord, "What is Justice?"
  4. Demers, Climate Change Babies.
  5. U.S. Department of Agriculture, "Soil Health."

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY — Streaming Videos

 

    EXAMPLES:

Ludlow, Morwenna. "Women Leaders in Early Christianity." Lecture recorded at Gresham College, April 5, 2023. Accessed September 20, 2023. Video, 59:34. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyrMnrPGO1A. [video with a recording date on the Web]

Rodgers, Ned, dir. The Reformation. Produced by Cerebellum Corporation. Films on Demand, accessed January 17, 2020. Video, 29:45. https://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=19231&xtid=154913. [video in a library database]

Sayre-McCord, Geoffrey. "What is Justice?" Produced by the Institute for Humane Studies. October 16, 2020. Video, 8:48. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViAp5lEYu5k. [video with a posting date on the Web]

Demers, Jocelyn, dir. Climate Change Babies. Produced by Jocelyn Demers and Monde Films. Alexander Street, accessed March 28, 2021. Video, 45:00. https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/climate-change-babies. [video in a library database]

U.S. Department of Agriculture, prod. "Soil Health Featured in the Southwest." Farmers.gov, accessed February 13, 2023. Video, 1:57. https://www.farmers.gov/blog/soil-health-how-video-series. [video without a date on the Web]