Skip to Main Content

Chicago (17th ed.) Style Guide: E-Books

An introductory guide to creating notes and bibliography entries in accordance with the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2017).

 

 

NOTES ENTRY — E-Books

 

    USED FOR:

  • Citing a book published in an electronic (online) format.


    GUIDANCE:

For e-books that are freely available online, add a stable URL after the last component of the notes entry.

For e-books that have restricted access (ex. in a library database), add the name of the commercial product that contains the e-book (ex. EBSCOhost, Electronic Book Center, O'Reilly) or, if available, a URL based on a DOI number. (See example 5 below for a URL based on a DOI number.)


    EXAMPLES:

  1. Mehmet Gurses, Anatomy of a Civil War: Sociopolitical Impacts of the Kurdish Conflict in Turkey (Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press, 2018), 100-101, https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctvh4zj0p.9. [freely accessible e-book in a partially restricted database]
  2. Judy Dodge Cummings, The Civil War: The Struggle That Divided America (White River Junction, VT: Nomad Press, 2017), 23, EBSCOhost. [e-book in a restricted database]
  3. T. S. Eliot, introduction to The Sacred Wood (London: Methuen, 1920), xiv-xv, https://archive.org/details/in.ernet.dli.2015.149159/page/n13/mode/2up. [freely accessible e-book on the Web]
  4. William Johnston, "From Prostitute on the Lam to Mistress," in Geisha, Harlot, Strangler, Star: A Woman, Sex, and Morality in Modern Japan (New York: Columbia University Press, 2005), 76, ACLS Humanities Ebook. [e-book in a restricted database]
  5. Lawrence Busch and Diana Stuart, "Agricultural Sciences and Technology," in International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd ed., ed. James D. Wright (Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2015), 1:472, http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-08-097086-8.85002-3. [e-book with a DOI-based URL in a restricted database]

 

 

SHORTENED NOTES ENTRY (REPEATED SOURCES) — E-Books

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Gurses, Anatomy of a Civil War, 101-2.
  2. Cummings, Civil War, 27.
  3. Eliot, introduction, xiii.
  4. Johnston, "Prostitute on the Lam," 75.
  5. Busch and Stuart, "Agricultural Sciences," 473.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY — E-Books

 

    EXAMPLES:

Gurses, Mehmet. Anatomy of a Civil War: Sociopolitical Impacts of the Kurdish Conflict in Turkey. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press, 2018. https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctvh4zj0p.9. [freely accessible e-book in a partially restricted database]

Cummings, Judy Dodge. The Civil War: The Struggle That Divided America. White River Junction, VT: Nomad Press, 2017. EBSCOhost. [e-book in a restricted database]

Eliot, T. S. Introduction to The Sacred Wood, xi-xvii. London: Methuen, 1920. https://archive.org/details/in.ernet.dli.2015.149159/page/n13/mode/2up. [freely accessible e-book on the Web]

Johnston, William. "From Prostitute on the Lam to Mistress." In Geisha, Harlot, Strangler, Star: A Woman, Sex, and Morality in Modern Japan, 72-77. New York: Columbia University Press, 2005. ACLS Humanities Ebook. [e-book in a restricted database]

Busch, Lawrence, and Diana Stuart. "Agricultural Sciences and Technology." In International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd ed., edited by James D. Wright, 471-76. Vol. 1. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2015. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-08-097086-8.85002-3. [e-book with a DOI-based URL in a restricted database]