Skip to Main Content

Chicago (17th ed.) Style Guide: Book (2 editors)

An introductory guide to creating notes and bibliography entries in accordance with the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2017).

 

 

NOTES ENTRY — Book with 2 Editors

 

    USED FOR:

  • Citing a book with 2 editors. This is NOT for citing a part (essay, chapter, poem) in a book.


    BASIC COMPONENTS:

  • FIRST EDITOR'S NAME and SECOND EDITOR'S NAME [comma] eds. [comma]
  • TITLE OF BOOK in italics
  • [parenthesis] CITY OF PUBLICATION [colon]
  • PUBLISHER [comma]
  • YEAR OF PUBLICATION [parenthesis] [comma]
  • PAGE NUMBER(S) [period]


    FORMATTING:

  1. First Editor's Name and Second Editor's Name, eds., Title of Book: Which Is in Italics (City: Publisher, Year), Page Number(s).

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Majid Sarrafzadeh and D. T. Lee, eds., Algorithmic Aspects of VLSI Layout (Singapore: World Scientific, 1993), iv-v.
  2. Tremper Longman III and Mark L. Strauss, eds., The Baker Expository Dictionary of Biblical Words (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 2023), 899-900.
  3. Raymond W. Gibbs Jr. and Herbert L. Colston, eds., Irony in Language and Thought: A Cognitive Science Reader (New York: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2007), viii.
  4. Lawrence R. Sullivan and Nancy Liu-Sullivan, eds., Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Environment (Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2019), 256.
  5. Michael Clark and Olaf Thyen, eds., Compact Oxford German Dictionary (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013), 700-701.

 

 

SHORTENED NOTES ENTRY (REPEATED SOURCES) — Book with 2 Editors


    BASIC COMPONENTS:

  • FIRST EDITOR'S LAST NAME and SECOND EDITOR'S LAST NAME [comma]
  • SHORTENED TITLE OF BOOK in italics [comma]
  • PAGE NUMBER(S) [period]


    FORMATTING:

  1. First Editor's Last Name and Second Editor's Last Name, Shortened Title of Book in Italics, Page Number(s).

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Sarrafzadeh and Lee, Algorithmic Aspects, v-vi.
  2. Longman and Strauss, Expository Dictionary, 897.
  3. Gibbs and Colston, Irony in Language, viii.
  4. Sullivan and Liu-Sullivan, Chinese Environment, 255.
  5. Clark and Thyen, German Dictionary, 708-9.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY — Book with 2 Editors


    BASIC COMPONENTS:

  • FIRST EDITOR'S LAST NAME [comma] FIRST EDITOR'S FIRST NAME [comma] and SECOND EDITOR'S NAME [comma] eds.
  • TITLE OF BOOK in italics [period]
  • CITY OF PUBLICATION [colon]
  • PUBLISHER [comma]
  • YEAR OF PUBLICATION [period]


    FORMATTING:

First Editor's Last Name, First Editor's First Name, and Second Editor's Name, eds. Title of Book: Which Is in Italics. City: Publisher, Year.

 

    EXAMPLES:

Sarrafzadeh, Majid, and D. T. Lee, eds. Algorithmic Aspects of VLSI Layout. Singapore: World Scientific, 1993.

Longman, Tremper, III, and Mark L. Strauss, eds. The Baker Expository Dictionary of Biblical Words. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books, 2023.

Gibbs, Raymond W., Jr., and Herbert L. Colston, eds. Irony in Language and Thought: A Cognitive Science Reader. New York: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2007

Sullivan, Lawrence R., and Nancy Liu-Sullivan, eds. Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Environment. Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2019.

Clark, Michael, and Olaf Thyen, eds. Compact Oxford German Dictionary. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.