Skip to Main Content

Chicago (17th ed.) Style Guide: Book(s) in a Multivolume Set

An introductory guide to creating notes and bibliography entries in accordance with the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2017).

 

 

NOTES ENTRY — Book(s) in a Multivolume Set

 

    USED FOR:

  • Citing a full multivolume book set, an individual volume in a multivolume set, or part of an individual volume in a book set.


    GUIDANCE:

With a notes entry for a full book set, indicate the total number of volumes before the city of publication.

With a notes entry for an individual volume, indicate the volume number before the city of publication. (See example 3 below.) But if each volume in the set begins with page 1, place the volume number instead with the page number(s). (See example 2 below.)

If the individual volumes of the book set each have a separate title, you can use either the individual volume's title or the book set's title. If you use the individual volume's title, then in the bibliographic citation you need to also identify the title of the book set. (See examples 4 and 8 below and their companion bibliography entries at the bottom of the page.)

With a notes entry for a part of an individual volume (chapter, essay), indicate the total number of volumes before the city of publication. (See example 7 below.) If each volume in the set begins with page 1, place the volume number instead with the page number(s).


    EXAMPLES:

  1. Carl Sandburg, Abraham Lincoln: The War Years, 4 vols. (New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1939). [authored multivolume set; no page(s) cited]
  2. Antonio Rosmini, A New Essay Concerning the Origin of Ideas, trans. Robert A. Murphy (Durham, UK: Rosmini House, 2001), 3:183. [authored and translated book in a multivolume set; each volume begins with page 1]
  3. A. Russell Buchanan, The United States and World War II, vol. 2 (New York: Harper and Row, 1964), 519-20. [authored book in a multivolume set; this volume continues the page numbering begun in volume 1]
  4. John E. Steinmueller, Special Introduction to the Old Testament, rev. ed. (New York: Joseph F. Wagner, 1969), 2:220-21. [authored book in a revised edition of a multivolume set; each volume begins with page 1]
  5. Jeffrey Jensen Arnett, ed., Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media, vol. 2 (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007), 600-601. [edited book in a multivolume set; this volume continues the page numbering begun in volume 1]
  6. Terry Mizrahi and Larry E. Davis, eds., Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed. (Washington, DC: NASW Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), 3:477. [edited book in a new edition of a multivolume set; each volume begins with page 1]
  7. R. L. Prentice and J. D. Kalbflesch, "Survival Analysis: Overview," in International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, ed. Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes, vol. 22 (Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2001), 15323. [article in an edited book in a multivolume set; this volume continues the page numbering from the previous volumes]
  8. Elizabeth Endicott-West, "The Yuan Government and Society," in The Cambridge History of China, ed. Herbert Franke and Denis Twitchett (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1994), 6:587-88. [chapter in an edited book in a multivolume set; each volume begins with page 1]

 

 

SHORTENED NOTES ENTRY (REPEATED SOURCES) — Book(s) in a Multivolume Set

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Sandburg, Abraham Lincoln. [no page(s) cited]
  2. Rosmini, Origin of Ideas, 3:189.
  3. Buchanan, United States, 530-31
  4. Steinmueller, Old Testament, 2:140-41.
  5. Arnett, Encyclopedia of Children, 601-2.
  6. Mizrahi and Davis, Encyclopedia of Social Work, 3:476.
  7. Prentice and Kalbflesch, "Survival Analysis," 15324.
  8. Endicott-West, "Yuan Government," 6:588-89.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY — Book(s) in a Multivolume Set

 

    GUIDANCE:

If an individual volume's title is being used, the citation also needs to include the title of the book set. (See the fourth and eighth examples below and their companion notes entries at the top of the page.)


    EXAMPLES:

Sandburg, Carl. Abraham Lincoln: The War Years. 4 vols. New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1939. [authored multivolume set]

Rosmini, Antonio. A New Essay Concerning the Origin of Ideas. Translated by Robert A. Murphy. Vol. 3. Durham, UK: Rosmini House, 2001. [authored and translated book in a multivolume set]

Buchanan, A. Russell. The United States and World War II. Vol. 2. New York: Harper and Row, 1964. [authored book in a multivolume set]

Steinmueller, John E. Special Introduction to the Old Testament. Rev. ed. Vol. 2 of A Companion to Scripture Studies. New York: Joseph F. Wagner, 1969. [authored book in a revised edition of a multivolume set; each volume has its own title]

Arnett, Jeffrey Jensen, ed. Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media. Vol. 2. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007. [edited book in a multivolume set]

Mizrahi, Terry, and Larry E. Davis, eds. Encyclopedia of Social Work. 20th ed. Vol. 3. Washington, DC: NASW Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. [edited book in a new edition of a multivolume set]

Prentice, R. L.,  and J. D. Kalbflesch. "Survival Analysis: Overview." In International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, edited by Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes, 15318-25. Vol. 22. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2001. [article in an edited book in a multivolume set]

Endicott-West, Elizabeth. "The Yuan Government and Society." In Alien Regimes and Border States, 907-1368, edited by Herbert Franke and Denis Twitchett, 587-615. Vol. 6 of The Cambridge History of China. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1994. [chapter in an edited book in a multivolume set; each volume has its own title]