Skip to Main Content
Ursuline College Library Logo
My Library Record

Chicago (17th ed.) Style Guide

An introductory guide to creating notes and bibliography entries in accordance with the 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (2017).

Book With Four to Ten Editors

 

 

NOTES ENTRY — Book with 4 to 10 Editors

    USED FOR:

  • Citing a book with 4 to 10 editors. This is NOT for citing a part (essay, chapter, poem) in a book.


    BASIC COMPONENTS:

  • FIRST EDITOR'S NAME et al. [comma] eds. [comma]
  • TITLE OF BOOK in italics
  • [parenthesis] CITY OF PUBLICATION [colon]
  • PUBLISHER [comma]
  • YEAR OF PUBLICATION [parenthesis] [comma]
  • PAGE NUMBER(S) [period]


    FORMATTING:

  1. First Editor's Name et al., eds., Title of Book: Which Is in Italics (City: Publisher, Year), Page Number(s).

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Sebastian P. Brock et al., eds., The Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage (Piscataway, NJ: Gorgias Press, 2011), 500-501.
  2. Anthony G. Robins et al., eds., Young, Gifted and Missing: The Underrepresentation of African American Males in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Disciplines (Bingley, UK: Emerald, 2022), xiv.
  3. James W. Fleshman Jr. et al., eds., Atlas of Surgical Techniques for the Colon, Rectum, and Anus (Philadelphia: Saunders/Elsevier, 2013), 322-23.
  4. Ian A. McFarland et al., eds., The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2014), 204-5.
  5. Pritam S. Sahota et al., eds., The Illustrated Dictionary of Toxicologic Pathology and Safety Science (Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2019), 10-11.

 

 

SHORTENED NOTES ENTRY (REPEATED SOURCES) — Book with 4 to 10 Editors


    BASIC COMPONENTS:

  • FIRST EDITOR's LAST NAME et al. [comma]
  • SHORTENED TITLE OF BOOK in italics [comma]
  • PAGE NUMBER(S) [period]


    FORMATTING:

  1. First Editor's Last Name et al., Shortened Title of Book in Italics, Page Number(s).

 

    EXAMPLES:

  1. Brock et al., Syriac Heritage, 499-500.
  2. Robins et al., Young, Gifted and Missing, xi.
  3. Fleshman et al., Surgical Techniques, 302-3.
  4. McFarland et al., Christian Theology, 209-10.
  5. Sahota et al., Toxicologic Pathology, 10.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY — Book with 4 to 10 Editors


    BASIC COMPONENTS:

  • FIRST EDITOR'S LAST NAME [comma] FIRST EDITOR'S FIRST NAME [comma] SECOND EDITOR'S NAME [comma] THIRD EDITOR'S NAME [comma] [ . . . ] and LAST EDITOR'S NAME [comma] eds.
  • TITLE OF BOOK in italics [period]
  • CITY OF PUBLICATION [colon]
  • PUBLISHER [comma]
  • YEAR OF PUBLICATION [period]


    FORMATTING:

First Editor's Last Name, First Editor's First Name, Second Editor's Name, Third Editor's Name, [ . . . ] and Last Editor's Name, eds. Title of Book: Which Is in Italics. City: Publisher, Year.

 

    EXAMPLES:

Brock, Sebastian P., Aaron M. Butts, George A. Kiraz, and Lucas Van Rompay, eds. The Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage. Piscataway, NJ: Gorgias Press, 2011.

Robins, Anthony G., Locksley Knibbs, Ted N. Ingram, Michael N. Weaver Jr., and Adriel A. Hilton, eds. Young, Gifted and Missing: The Underrepresentation of African American Males in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Disciplines. Bingley, UK: Emerald, 2022.

Fleshman, James W., Jr., Elisa H. Birnbaum, Steven R. Hunt, Matthew G. Mutch, Ira J. Kodner, and Bashar Safar, eds. Atlas of Surgical Techniques for the Colon, Rectum, and Anus. Philadelphia: Saunders/Elsevier, 2013.

McFarland, Ian A., David A. S. Fergusson, Karen Kilby, and Iain R. Torrance, eds. The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2014.

Sahota, Pritam S., Robert H. Spaet, Philip Bentley, and Zbigniew W. Wojcinski, eds. The Illustrated Dictionary of Toxicologic Pathology and Safety Science. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2019.