ARRANGING BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRIES
Entries in a bibliography are arranged alphabetically based on the first word(s) of each entry. Usually this means you're alphabetizing by author/editor last name, although entries for anonymous sources do not have author names. Two anonymous sources appear in the "Sample Bibliography" (below at right). See the entries that begin with "Colonial Williamsburg Foundation" and "Osceola (KY) Times."
Multiple entries that begin with the same author/editor last name should be alphabetized based on the remaining word(s) in the author/editor names (see the two entries for Page in the "Sample Bibliography"). For example:
Smith, A. A.
Smith, Abby.
Smith, Abigail.
Smith, John.
Smith, John A.
Smith, John Abraham.
Smith, R. Samuel.
Smith, Rex.
Smith, Rex, Jr.
When you have multiple entries for works by the same author/editor, the author's full name is replaced with a set of three hyphens beginning with the second entry for that author/editor (see the two entries for Thurber in the "Sample Bibliography"). The multiple entries are alphabetized by the word(s) following the author's/editor's name. For example:
Jones, Jane. Acting Like Myself.
---. "America, My America."
---. Freeing the Inner Me.
---. Methodists and Martians.
KEY TO ENTRIES IN
SAMPLE BIBLIOGRAPHY
| Asante | citing a foreword to a single-authored book; foreword and book by different authors; lesser-known American city of publication |
| Barrett | citing an entire edited book; 3 editors; lesser-known American city of publication |
| Beebe | citing a single-authored magazine article from a library database |
| Bristol-Rhys | citing a single-authored article in the 2nd volume of an edited multivolume set; 1 editor |
| Brown | citing a single-authored book review in a journal from a library database |
| Colonial | citing a streaming video from the Web |
| De Vinne | citing a personal communication received by yourself via e-mail |
| Filippi | citing an entire authored and translated book; 1 author; 1 translator |
| Gascoyne | citing an entire edited book in a new edition; 4 editors; 2nd edition; lesser-known American city of publication |
| Greenwald | citing a dissertation |
| Harding | citing a single-authored blog posting from a website |
| Hatzenbuehler | citing a dual-authored journal article from a library database; DOI-based URL |
| Jackson | citing a single-authored article from a website |
| Jarvis | citing a streaming video from a library database |
| Johnson | citing an entire compiled multivolume set in a revised edition; 1 compiler; lesser-known American city of publication |
| Lamb | citing a single-authored magazine article from a Web-based database |
| Lumbers | citing a single-authored journal article from a library database |
| Marimow | citing a single-authored newspaper article from a paper copy; city not named in newspaper title |
| Matthews | citing an entire anonymously authored translated book; 1 translator; lesser-known American city of publication |
| Montefiore | citing a single-authored magazine article from a paper copy |
| Morgan-Bentley | citing a tri-authored newspaper article from a library database; city not named in newspaper title |
| Neuborne | citing a single-authored newspaper editorial from a paper copy |
| Nogawa | citing a dual-authored journal article from a library database |
| Osceola | citing an anonymously authored newspaper article from a Web-based database; lesser-known city in newspaper title |
| Page, Hugh | citing a single-authored article in the 5th volume of an edited multivolume set; 1 editor; each volume has its own individual title |
| Page, Sohpie | citing a chapter in a single-authored e-book from a library database; lesser-known American city of publication; DOI-based URL |
| Roesdahl | citing an entire authored and translated book in a new edition; 1 author; 2 translators; 2nd edition |
| Ross | citing a single-authored newspaper article from a library database; city not named in newspaper title; lesser-known city |
| Rossetti | citing a single-authored poem in an edited book in a new edition; 1 editor; 6th edition |
| Thurber (1) | citing a chapter in a single-authored book; lesser-known American city of publication |
| Thurber (2) | 2nd entry by the same author; citing an entire single-authored book |
| Ung | citing a preface to a single-authored book; preface and book by same author |
| Van de Water | citing an entire authored and translated book; 2 authors; 2 translators; lesser-known foreign city of publication |
| Welles | citing an entire authored multivolume set; 1 author |
FORMATTING A BIBLIOGRAPHY
GUIDANCE:
As with the text of your paper, a bibliography should be double spaced.
Entries in a bibliography are formatted differently than entries in notes. See the other pages of this guide for help with understanding the differences. You can also: 1) consult a copy of the The Chicago Manual of Style; 2) ask a librarian for help; or 3) make an appointment with the Writing Center.
Entries in a bibliography should be arranged alphabetically by the initial component of the entry, which is commonly an author's last name.
Entries in a bibliography should use a hanging indent. In other words, for entries that are longer than one line, all lines beyond the first need to be indented, as shown here:
SAMPLE BIBLIOGRAPHY
WARNING:
In an actual paper the entries below would use hanging indents (see explanation above).
Bibliography
Asante, Molefi Kete. Foreword to Transcendence and the Africana Literary Enterprise, by Christel N. Temple, vii-ix. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2020.
Barrett, Anthony A., Elaine Fantham, and John C. Yardley, eds. The Emperor Nero: A Guide to the Ancient Sources. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2016.
Beebe, Beatrice B. "Arrest Yourself, Sir: An Incident of High Diplomatic Nature in Our Alaskan History." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine, June 1931. https://www.proquest.com/magazines/arrest-yourself-sir/docview/137433300/se-2.
Bristol-Rhys, Jane E. "United Arab Emirates." In The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women, edited by Natana J. Delong-Bas, 382-84. Vol. 2. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.
Brown, Thomas A. Review of Civil War Settlers: Scandinavians, Citizenship, and American Empire, 1848–1870, by Anders Bo Rasmussen. Scandinavian Studies 95, no. 1 (Spring 2023): 108-11. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ahl&AN=162075984&site=ehost-live.
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, prod. "The Geddy Foundry." June 30, 2023. Video, 4:20. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIVdqDW35UY.
De Vinne, Christine. Email message to author. August 21, 2023.
Filippi, Francesco. Mussolini Also Did a Lot of Good: The Spread of Historical Amnesia. Translated by John Irving. Montreal: Baraka Books, 2021.
Gascoyne, Kevin, François Marchand, Jasmin Desharnais, and Hugo Américi, eds. Tea: History, Terroirs, Varieties. 2nd ed. Buffalo, NY: Firefly Books, 2014.
Greenwald, Marilyn S. "The Life and Career of Journalist Charlotte Curtis: A Rhetorical Biography." PhD diss., Ohio State University, 1991. http://rave.ohiolink.edu/etdc/view?acc_num=osu1487688507503189.
Harding, Stephen. "Rescue Mission." Stories (blog). National Air and Space Museum, September 20, 2023. https://airandspace.si.edu/air-and-space-quarterly/fall-2023/rescue-mission.
Hatzenbuehler, Ronald L., and Robert L. Ivie. "Justifying the War of 1812: Toward a Model of Congressional Behavior in Early War Crises." Social Science History 4, no. 4 (November 1980): 453-77. https://doi.org/10.2307/1171017.
Jackson, Kevin. "A Short History of Pyramidology." BBC. Last updated February 17, 2011. https://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/egyptians/pyramidology_01.shtml.
Jarvis, Tom, and Cherique Pohl, dirs. Search for the Last Unicorn. Produced by BBC Worldwide Learning. Films on Demand, accessed November 30, 2022. Video, 49:10. https://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=19231&xtid=288936.
Johnson, Donald Bruce, comp. National Party Platforms. Rev. ed. 2 vols. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1978.
Lamb, Harold. "The Western March of the Mongols." Military Review, January 1950. https://archive.org/details/sim_military-review_1950-01_29_10/page/n1/mode/1up.
Lumbers, Michael. "The Irony of Vietnam: The Johnson Administration's Tentative Bridge Building to China, 1965-1966." Journal of Cold War Studies 6, no. 3 (Summer 2004): 68-114. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ahl&AN=13867203&site=ehost-live.
Marimow, Ann E. "In Unanimous Decision, Court Hands Major Victory to Religious Groups." Plain Dealer (Cleveland), June 30, 2023.
Matthews, Boris, trans. The Herder Dictionary of Symbols: Symbols from Art, Archaeology, Mythology, Literature, and Religion. Wilmette, IL: Chiron, 1993.
Montefiore, Simon Sebag. "What Prigozhin's End Says About Russia." Time, September 25, 2023.
Morgan-Bentley, Paul, Charlotte Wace, and Rosamund Urwin. "Woman Goes to Met Police After Brand Investigation; Officers Told of Alleged Sexual Assault in 2003." Times (London), September 19, 2023. https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:696M-BGT1-JCBW-N3NK-00000-00&context=1516831.
Neuborne, Burt. "There's a Good Chance Trump Will Be Found 'Willfully Blind.'" Editorial. New York Times, August 31, 2023.
Nogawa, Haruo, and Sandra J. Suttie. "A Japanese-American Basketball League and the Assimilation of Its Members into the Mainstream of United States Society." International Review for the Sociology of Sport 19, no. 3-4 (1984): 259-71. https://rave.ohiolink.edu/ejournals/article/330202248.
Osceola (KY) Times. "Kentucky Kicks Dog Racers Out." December 23, 1927. https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84022982/1927-12-23/ed-1/seq-1/.
Page, Hugh R., Jr. "Cham." In East and Southeast Asia, edited by Paul Hockings, 72-74. Vol. 5 of Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1994.
Page, Sophie. "Natural Magic: The Basilisk and the Lodestone." In Magic in the Cloister: Pious Motives, Illicit Interests, and Occult Approaches to the Medieval Universe, 31-48. University Park, PA: Penn State University Press, 2021. https://doi.org/10.1515/9780271060965.
Roesdahl, Else. The Vikings. 2nd ed. Translated by Susan M. Margeson and Kirsten Williams. London: Penguin Books, 1998.
Ross, Gretchen. "Hamilton Barn Houses Community History." State Journal (Charleston, WV), July 11, 2015. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nfh&AN=108512761&login.asp&site=ehost-live.
Rossetti, Christina. "After Death." In The Norton Anthology of English Literature, 6th ed., edited by M. H. Abrams, 2105-6. New York: W. W. Norton, 1996.
Thurber, James. "Magical Lady." In Lanterns and Lances, 31-34. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life Books, 1962.
---. Thurber's Dogs: A Collection of the Master's Dogs, Written and Drawn, Real and Imaginary, Living and Long Ago. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1955.
Ung, Loung. Preface to Lucky Child: A Daughter of Cambodia Reunites with the Sister She Left Behind, xi-xiv. New York: HarperCollins, 2005.
Van de Water, Antoinette, and Liesbeth Sluiter. The Great Elephant Escape. Translated by Joy Carolus and Janette Symons. Chiang Mai, Thai.: Silkworm Books, 2009.
Welles, Gideon. Diary of Gideon Welles. 3 vols. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1911.