Peace: A Very Short Introduction
JZ 5538 .R534 2014
The Human Right to a Green Future: Environmental Rights and Intergenerational Justice
K 3585 .H57 2009
Alternative Perspectives
on Peacebuilding
online e-book
Children's Rights: Towards Social Justice
online e-book
Alternative Approaches in Conflict Resolution
online e-book
Justice and Peace:
A Christian Primer
BR 115 .J8 T46 2003
Ending Global Poverty:
A Guide to What Works
HC 79 .P63 S62 2005
Amnesty, Human Rights and Political Transitions
online e-book
Equality for Women = Prosperity for All: The Disastrous Global Crisis of Gender Inequality
HQ 1237 .L65 2018
Building New Pathways
to Peace
online e-book
Social Injustice and
Public Health
RA 418 .S6423 2013
Universal Human Rights: Origins and Development
online e-book
Liberating Faith: Religious Voices for Justice, Peace, and Ecological Wisdom
BL 65 .J87 L53 2003
Pacifism: A Philosophy
of Nonviolence
online e-book
Communities of Peace: Confronting Injustice
and Creating Justice
online e-book
Global Child Welfare
and Well-Being
online e-book
War: A Primer for
Christians
online e-book
Sharing Eden: Green Teachings from Jews, Christians and Muslims
online e-book
Wilson's Ghost: Reducing the Risk of Conflict, Killing, and Catastrophe in the 21st Century
JZ 5538 .M36 2001
Human Rights: A Very
Short Introduction
JC 571 .C596 2015
Demilitarization in the Contemporary World
online e-book
Understanding World Religions: A Road Map
for Justice and Peace
BL 80.3 .S65 2007
Apocalypse Never: Forging the Path to a Nuclear Weapon-Free World
online e-book
The Challenge for Energy Justice: Correcting Human Rights Abuses
online e-book
The Women in Blue Helmets: Gender, Policing, and the UN's First All-Female Peacekeeping Unit
online e-book
CRAIG GABLE
Reference Librarian
for Religion
Call Me
440-449-4080
•
E-mail Me
craig.gable@ursuline.edu
•
Visit Me (first floor, BL8)
make an appointment
 |
Call: 440-449-4202 |
 |
Text: 440-306-7068 |
 |
Chat with a Librarian
|
 |
Email a Librarian |
 |
Make an Appointment |
 |
Book a Study Room |
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS PROBLEMS?
If you're having problems with off-campus access to an online library resource, the most common reason is that it doesn't recognize you as an authorized user. An easy way to fix this problem is to go to the MyUrsuline webpage and log in. Then continue to use that same browser when accessing library resources.
USING SUBJECT HEADINGS FOR SEARCHES
Using Library of Congress subject headings when searching in the Besse Library and OhioLINK online catalogs can be more efficient than searching with keywords. So if you know what the exact subject heading is you need to use, you can enter the word/phrase in the search box and then click on the pull-down menu and select SUBJECT, as seen in the example image here.
Subject headings typically have subheadings (sometimes a few, sometimes many). Consider, for instance, the subject heading SOCIAL JUSTICE. The library's catalog includes records for books/videos that include SOCIAL JUSTICE with various subheadings attached. A few examples:
BESSE LIBRARY CATALOG
Besse Library's online catalog is available through the library's homepage. Click on FIND in the left-hand menu column then, on the next page, click on LIBRARY CATALOG.
Use the library catalog to find:1) hard-copy books; 2) videos; and 3) some e-books.
You can use the subject headings on this page (right-hand box) to conduct SUBJECT searches in the catalog.
URSEARCH
An alternative to using the library catalog is using URsearch. The URsearch search box is located at the top of the library's homepage. Here's what it looks like.
As opposed to the library catalog, URsearch includes ALL library content, which means hard-copy books, e-books, video, and articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Searching in URsearch begins with this simple search box. Then, once you get a list of search results, you can refine your search if needed and also apply limiters, such as date of publication, language, and source type.
OHIOLINK CATALOG
The OhioLINK catalog allows you to borrow materials from other schools throughout Ohio. This catalog includes millions of books and non-book items.
But you should always search the Besse Library collection before turning to OhioLINK.
When you're searching in the Besse Library catalog you'll see an OhioLINK button at the top of the screen. It looks like this.
When you click on it, it will take you to the OhioLINK catalog and automatically duplicate your search. So if you've conducted a search in our library catalog and not found enough content, click on the OhioLINK button to see what OhioLINK has to offer.
When you search in URsearch, OhioLINK materials appear automatically in the search results.
When you find an item you want to borrow through OhioLINK, look in the record at the holdings information to make sure there is at least one copy listed as AVAILABLE. Then click on the green request button, which looks like this.
You'll be asked to enter your name and ID number and identify your school. Then you'll be asked where you want the item to be delivered. You can have it delivered to Besse Library or to a closer OhioLINK member institution of your choice.
When the item arrives, you'll receive an e-mail telling you it's ready for pickup.
You normally have the opportunity to renew OhioLINK materials. However, someone else can put a hold on the item, which means you will not be able to renew the item and instead have to hand it in by its due date.
LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES
Research databases are typically used to find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
All of the library's research databases are listed on the library's A-Z Databases webpage.
When you search using URsearch (see box above) you're actually searching all of the library's databases simultaneously. But you can also search using an individual database. So, for example, if you're researching a topic relating to women's studies then you might want to try using the Women's Studies International database.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a database that includes full-text essays presenting multiple sides of current controversial issues. Content in Points of View Reference Center can provide you with helpful insight when conducting research for your course assignments.
Selected Library Research Databases
MULTI-TOPIC
ENVIRONMENT
HEALTH / MEDICINE
HISTORY
JUSTICE / CRIME
RELIGION
SOCIETAL ISSUES
WOMEN / GENDER / SEXUALITY
SELECTED SUBJECT HEADINGS
Here is a selected list of subject headings for peace and justice studies that can be used in the Besse Library and OhioLINK online catalogs. Many subject headings have geographical subheadings for countries, regions, and continents. For example:
SELECTED SUBJECT HEADINGS