LibGuides: RS 260: Peace and Justice: About Justice

Introductory Book Articles About Justice

INTRODUCTORY BOOK ARTICLES ABOUT JUSTICE

All of the following books are located in the library's reference collection (2nd floor). They do not leave the library.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary (1992)
Ref BS 440 .A54 1992

see "Just, Justice" (vol. 3, pp. 1127-29)

Battleground: Environment (2008)
Ref GE 105 .C65 2008

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 1, pp. 198-210)

Dictionary of Feminist Theologies (1996)
Ref BT 83.55 .D53 1996

see "Justice" (pp. 158-59)
see "Justice and Social Change" (pp. 159-62)

Dictionary of Fundamental Theology (1994)
Ref BT 1102 .D5813 1994

see "Justice" (pp. 560-81)

A Dictionary of Sociology (2005)
Ref HM 425 .D5735 2005

see "Justice, Social" (pp. 329-32)

Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007)
Ref DS 102.8 .E496 2007

see "Justice" (vol. 11, pp. 578-79)

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties (2006)
Ref KF 4748 .E53 2006

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 1, pp. 311-14)

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2004)
Ref HN 57 .E594 2004

see "The Environmental Justice Movement" (vol. 4, pp. 1281-84)

Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy (2007)
Ref BX 1753 .E595 2007

see "Justice" (vol. 1, pp. 588-90)
see "Social Justice" (vol. 2, pp. 981-83)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues (2011)
Ref HN 59.2 .E343 2011

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 4, pp. 1383-92)

The Encyclopedia of Democracy (1995)
Ref JC 423 .E53 1995

see "Justice, Theories of" (vol. 2, pp. 686-89)

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues (2011)
Ref GE 10 .E523 2011

see "Environmental Justice and Environmental Racism" (vol. 2, pp. 475-77)

Encyclopedia of Human Ecology (2003)
Ref GF 4 .E53 2003

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 1, pp. 228-30)

Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (2007)
Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 2007

see "Social Justice" (vol. 2, pp. 831-35)

Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000)
Ref BF 31 .E52 2000

see "Justice" (vol. 4, pp. 421-25)

Encyclopedia of Social Problems (2008)
Ref HN 28 .E55 2008

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 1, pp. 322-23)
see "Justice" (vol. 2, pp. 512-15)

Encyclopedia of Sociology (2000)
Ref HM 425 .E5 2000

see "Environmental Equity" (vol. 2, pp. 788-800)
see "Social Justice" (vol. 4, pp. 2695-711)

Encyclopedia of Sustainability (2010)
Ref GE 10 .C65 2010

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 1, pp. 39-41)

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion (1979)
Ref BR 95 .E494

see "Justice" (vol. F-N, pp. 1954-55)
see "Racial Justice" (vol. O-Z, pp. 2959-60)

Environmental Encyclopedia (2011)

Ref GE 10 .E58 2011

see "Ecojustice" (p. 492)

Handbook of American Women's History (2000)
Ref HQ 1410 .H36 2000

see "Women's Rights Movements: Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries" (pp. 644-49)

The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism (1995)
Ref BX 841 .H37 1995

see "Justice" (pp. 726-27)
see "Social Justice" (pp. 1203-05)

The International Encyclopedia of Ethics (2013)
Ref BJ 63 .I58 2013

see "Justice" (vol. 5, pp. 2865-78)

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2001)
Ref H 41 .I58 2001

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 7, pp. 4627-33)
see "Justice and Its Many Faces: Cultural Concerns" (vol. 12, pp. 8037-42)
see "Justice and Law" (vol. 12, pp. 8042-48)
see "Justice: Political" (vol. 12, pp. 8061-63)
see "Justice: Social Psychological Perspectives" (vol. 12, pp. 8063-67)

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003)
Ref Ref BX 841 .N44 2002

see "Justice" (vol. 8, pp. 64-69)
see "Social Justice" (vol. 13, pp. 242-44)

The New Dictionary of Theology (1991)
Ref BR95 .N38 1991

see "Justice" (pp. 548-53)

The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality (1993)
Ref BX 2350.65 .N49 1993

see "Justice" (pp. 578-83)

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism (2002)
Ref BM 50 .E63 2002

see "Justice" (pp. 436-37)

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (2008)
Ref BS 440 .N443 2006

see "Justice, NT" (vol. 3, pp. 475-76)
see "Justice, OT" (vol. 3, pp. 476-77)

Our Sunday Visitor's Catholic Encyclopedia (1998)
Ref BX 841 .O97 1998

see "Justice" (pp. 577-78)

The Oxford Companion to American Law (2002)
Ref KF 154 .O96 2002

see "Justice" (pp. 461-63)

The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought (2000)
Ref BR 95 .O94 2000

see "Justice" (pp. 360-62)

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion (2011)
Ref BM 50 .O94 2011

see "Justice" (p. 412)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (2009)
Ref DS 35.53 .O96 2009

see "Justice: Concepts of Justice" (vol. 3, pp. 278-82)
see "Social Justice" (vol. 3, pp. 282-86)

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge (2000)
Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000

see "Equality" (vol. 2, pp. 611-14)
see "Justice and Rights" (vol. 3, pp. 1175-77)

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia (2006)
Ref HN 57 .S624 2006

see "Environmental Justice" (vol. 3, pp. 626-37)

The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics (1986)
Ref BJ1199 .W47 1986

see "Justice" (pp. 329-32)

Introductory Videos About Justice

INTRODUCTORY VIDEOS ABOUT JUSTICE

Videos are available through the library's two online video repositories: 1) Alexander Street and 2) Films on Demand.

Justice (47 mins.)
How much faith do we really place in the institutions that settle our disputes and, at times, determine the fate of individuals? Are there other ways of finding a proper outcome besides the Western system of courts and prisons? Does might make right, and—even if the answer is no—has any society on the planet created a true alternative? This program looks at concepts of justice in various cultures around the world, revealing fascinating differences between accepted forms of law enforcement and criminal punishment.
The Price of Fairness (77 mins.)
From the caste-biased villages of India to the race-sensitive streets of Ferguson, Missouri, this documentary explores our understanding of fairness and what it takes to change an unfair system. Touching on issues of economic, political, racial and gender inequality, this film offers a thought-provoking and timely look at what fairness really means to us.
The History of World Criminal Justice (33. mins)
This program traces the history of world criminal justice from the Code of Hammurabi, through ancient Greece and Rome, to the Middle Ages. It covers such topics as criminal justice in India, China, Japan, and the Middle East; English debtors’ prisons; punishments for colonial witchcraft; the development of criminology; and modern criminal justice systems.
From Civil Rights to Racial Justice: Understanding African-American Social Justice Movements (49 mins.)
Dr. Alvin Tillery, Associate Professor of Political Science at Northwestern University, discusses: what the recent verdict in the Derek Chauvin trial means for racial equity in the United States, how current racial justice movements, like Black Lives Matter, fit within the broader history of the U.S. civil rights movement, and how today’s efforts differ from past American racial justice initiatives.
Bill Moyers Journal: Economic Justice for All? (57 mins.)
What has happened to Dr. King’s vision of economic justice? In this edition of the Journal, Bill Moyers sits down with attorneys Bryan Stevenson and Michelle Alexander—experts in civil rights advocacy and litigation—to discuss just how far the U.S. has come as a country, why poor and working-class Americans have fallen farther behind economically, and what the nation must do to fulfill Martin Luther King’s vision. An essay that assesses the grave societal implications of America’s vast income inequality ends the program.
Environmental Justice (25 mins.)
This program explores modern social issues and their direct impact upon environmental justice.