LibGuides: RS 260: Peace and Justice: About Peace

Introductory Book Articles About Peace

INTRODUCTORY BOOK ARTICLES ABOUT PEACE

All of the following books are located in the library's reference collection (2nd floor). They do not leave the library.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary (1992)
Ref BS 440 .A54 1992

see "Peace" (vol. 5, pp. 206-12)
see "Peacemaking, Peacemakers" (vol. 5, pp. 212-13)

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History (2005)
Ref D 23 .B45 2005

see "Peacemaking in the Modern Era" (v. 4, pp. 1439-44)
see "Peace Projects" (v. 4, pp. 1444-48)

Dictionary of American History (2003)
Ref E 174 .D52 2003

see "Peace Movements" (vol. 6, pp. 266-70)

Encyclopaedia Judaica (2007)
Ref DS 102.8 .E496 2007

see "Peace" (vol. 15, pp. 700-03)
see "Peace Movements, Religious" (vol. 15, pp. 703-04)

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2004)
Ref HN 57 .E594 2004

see "Antiwar/Protest Movements" (vol. 3, pp. 1037-59)

Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy (2007)
Ref BX 1753 .E595 2007

see "Peace" (vol. 2, pp. 796-97)

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (1996)
Ref GN 307 .E52 1996

see "Peace and Nonviolence" (vol. 3, pp. 908-12)

Encyclopedia of Human Rights (2009)
Ref JC 571 .E673 2009

see "Peace and Human Rights" (vol. 4, pp. 187-96)
see "Peacebuilding" (vol. 4, pp. 197-203)

Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000)
Ref BF 31 .E52 2000

see "Peace" (vol. 6, pp. 75-76)

Encyclopedia of Religion (2005)
Ref BL 31 .E46 2005

see "Nonviolence" (vol. 10, pp. 6645-49)
see "Peace" (vol. 10, pp. 7021-23)

Encyclopedia of Sociology (2000)
Ref HM 425 .E5 2000

see "Peace" (vol. 3, pp. 2044-51)

Encyclopedia of the American Left (1998)
Ref HX 86 .E58 1998

see "Peace Movements" (pp. 592-98)

Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook (2010)
Ref HQ 1233 .G452 2010

see "Women Leaders in the Peace/Antiwar Movements" (vol 1., pp. 279-89)

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2001)
Ref H 41 .I58 2001

see "Peace" (vol. 16, pp. 11134-39)
see "Peace and Nonviolence: Anthropological Aspects" (vol. 16, pp. 11140-44)
see "Peace Movements" (vol. 16, pp. 11144-47)
see "Peace Movements, History of" (vol. 16, pp. 11147-51)
see "Peace Promotion, Psychology of" (vol. 16, pp. 11151-55)
see "Peacemaking in History" (vol. 16, pp. 11155-59)

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003)
Ref BX 841 .N44 2002

see "Peace" (vol. 11, pp. 48-49)
see "Peace (in the Bible)" (vol. 11, pp. 49-50)

The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought (1994)
Ref BX 1753 .N497 1994

see "Peace" (pp. 717-21)

Religion and Everyday Life and Culture (2010)
Ref BL 74 .R36 2010

see "Conflict and Peacebuilding" (vol. 2, pp. 513-47)

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge (2000)
Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000

see "Peace Movements: Asia" (vol. 3, pp. 1502-05)
see "Peace Movements: Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands" (vol. 3, pp. 1505-08)
see "Peace Movements: Central and South America" (vol. 3, pp. 1508-11)
see "Peace Movements: Europe" (vol. 3, pp. 1511-16)
see "Peace Movements: Israel" (vol. 3, pp. 1516-18)
see "Peace Movements: Middle East and the Arab World" (vol. 3, pp. 1518-21)
see "Peace Movements: North America" (vol. 3, pp. 1521-24)

Introductory Videos About Peace

INTRODUCTORY VIDEOS ABOUT PEACE

Videos are available through the library's two online video repositories: 1) Alexander Street and 2) Films on Demand.

Making and Keeping Peace: Featuring Dr. Joe Hatcher (45 mins.)
Gives an overview of the basics of peace studies, including examinations of childrearing practices, relationships between individuals, and tensions between communities and larger groups.
War and Peace (45 mins.)
This film covers the ethics of war and peace. It explains clearly and succinctly the challenges faced by those who have the terrible responsibility of engaging in a war and how those who are engaged should behave.
Healing the Wounds: Making Peace a Priority (30 mins.)
Explores the complexities of promoting forgiveness on a mass scale in places such as Ireland and the Middle East. Dr. Robert Enright, president of The International Forgiveness Institute; Nobel Laureate Betty Williams; representatives of The Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies; and others discuss their efforts to advance the peace-making process--a process essential to the progress of humanity.
A Congress of the World's Religions: Speaking Out for Peace and Unity Full Video (28 mins.)
On the fifth anniversary of 9/11, 1,800 delegates gathered at the Congress of World Religions in Montreal to spend a week in ecumenical dialogue. This program captures the wisdom of attendees who, speaking from the podium or offstage, address topics ranging from widespread religious fanaticism, the destabilizing action/reaction spiral of violence, and the misuse of religion for political ends to defusing alienation through acceptance, fighting the radical poverty that polarizes communities, and nurturing understanding through greater awareness of the oneness of humankind.
Rights and Wrongs (27 mins.)
Highlights the Tomorrow’s Leaders conference, at which young people from Africa, the former Yugoslavia, Northern Ireland, the Middle East, and the United States discuss ethnic conflicts. Event sponsor and Nobel Prize winner Elie Wiesel talks about the importance of dialogue. Also features a report on P.S. 230 in Brooklyn, NY, elementary school where students learn conflict resolution techniques in order to prevent violence and promote tolerance.