Why Use a Reference Book?
Reference books are designed to provide you with an introduction to a given topic.
SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS AVAILABLE IN THE LIBRARY (2nd floor)
ACTIVISM
Encyclopedia of American Activism, 1960 to the Present (1998)
Ref JK 1764 .D53 1998
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2004 , 4 vols.)
Ref HN 57 .E594 2004
ANIMALS
Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare (2010, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 4708 .E53 2010
CHILDREN
Handbook of Child Sexual Abuse: Identification, Assessment, and Treatment (2012)
Ref HV 6570 .H356 2012
The Encyclopedia of Child Abuse (2007)
Ref HV 6626.5 .C57 2007
CRIME
Battleground: Criminal Justice (2007, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 7411 .B38 2007
Domestic Violence Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Information About Intimate Partner Abuse, Stalking, Sexual Harassment, and Human Trafficking . . . (2013)
Ref HV 6626.2 .D685 2013
The Encyclopedia of Child Abuse (2007)
Ref HV 6626.5 .C57 2007
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse (2013, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6626 .E535 2013
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence (2008, 2 vols.)
Ref HM 1121 .E57 2008
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work (2006, 2 vols.)
Ref HQ 115 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Rape (2004)
Ref HV 6558 .E53 2004
Handbook of Child Sexual Abuse: Identification, Assessment, and Treatment (2012)
Ref HV 6570 .H356 2012
Human Trafficking (2009)
Ref HQ 281 .C85 2009
Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery (2013, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6556 .S447 2013
Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives (2013, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6250.4 .G57 V558 2013
Violence and Abuse in Society: Understanding a Global Crisis (2012, 4 vols.)
Ref HM 886 .V5592 2012
ENVIRONMENT / CLIMATE
Battleground: Environment (2008, 2 vols.)
Ref GE 105 .C65 2008
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather (2011, 3 vols.)
Ref QC 854 .E523 2011
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues (2011, 4 vols.)
Ref GE 10 .E523 2011
Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society (2002, 2 vols.)
Ref GE 149 .E47 2002
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming Science and Technology (2009, 2 vols.)
Ref QC 981.8 .G56 J638 2009
Encyclopedia of Sustainability (2010, 3 vols.)
Ref GE 10 .C65 2010
Environmental Encyclopedia (2011, 2 vols.)
Ref GE 10 .E58 2011
Environmental Movements Around the World: Shades of Green in Politics and Culture (2014, 2 vols.)
Ref GE 195 .E584 2014
Global Warming in the 21st Century (2006, 3 vols.)
Ref QC 981.8 .G56 J643 2006
ETHICS
The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (2012, 4 vols.)
Ref BJ 63 .E44 2012
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics (2013, 9 vols.)
Ref BJ 63 .I58 2013
HOMELESSNESS
Encyclopedia of Homelessness (2004, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 4493 .E53 2004
Homelessness: A Documentary and Reference Guide (2012)
Ref HV 4504 .S58 2012
HUMAN RIGHTS / CIVIL RIGHTS
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties (2006, 3 vols.)
Ref KF 4748 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights (1997)
Ref KF 8210 .C5 E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Human Rights (2009, 5 vols.)
Ref JC 571 .E673 2009
An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States (2011, 2 vols.)
Ref KF 4747.5 .C37 2011
IMMIGRATION
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration (2005)
Ref JV 6465 .P68 2005
Immigration: A Documentary and Reference Guide (2009)
Ref JV 6465 .I46 2009
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration (2013, 4 vols.)
Ref JV 6450 .I5536 2013
RACISM
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States (2005, 3 vols.)
Ref E 184 .A1 E773 2005
A State-by-State History of Race and Racism in the United States (2019, 2 vols.)
Ref E 185.61 .S7937 2019
RELIGION
The Anchor Bible Dictionary (1992, 6 vols.)
Ref BS 440 .A54 1992
Encyclopedia of Religion (2005, 15 vols.)
Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion in America (2010, 4 vols.)
Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003, 15+ vols.)
Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
SOCIAL ISSUES (General)
Encyclopedia of American Activism, 1960 to the Present (1998)
Ref JK 1764 .D53 1998
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2004 , 4 vols.)
Ref HN 57 .E594 2004
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues (2011 , 4 vols.)
Ref HN 59.2 .E343 2011
Encyclopedia of Social Problems (2008 , 2 vols.)
Ref HN 28 .E55 2008
Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia (2006 , 7 vols. + index)
Ref HN 57 .S624 2006
WAR
Chemical and Biological Warfare: A Reference Handbook (2007)
Ref UG 447.8 .M33 2007
Encyclopedia of War and American Society (2006, 3 vols.)
Ref E 181 .E634 2006
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide (2011, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6322.7 .H67 2011
Women and War: A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present (2006, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6322.7 .H67 2011
WOMEN / GENDER / SEXUALITY
Abortion in the United States: A Reference Handbook (2007)
Ref HQ 767.5 .U5 M372 2008
Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality (2008, 2 vols.)
Ref HQ 1115 .B38 2008
Domestic Violence Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Information About Intimate Partner Abuse, Stalking, Sexual Harassment, and Human Trafficking . . . (2013)
Ref HV 6626.2 .D685 2013
Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States (2009)
Ref HQ 767.5 .U5 P35 2009
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse (2013, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6626 .E535 2013
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence (2008, 2 vols.)
Ref HM 1121 .E57 2008
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America (2004, 3 vols.)
Ref HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Motherhood (2010, 3 vols.)
Ref HQ 759 .E52 2010
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work (2006, 2 vols.)
Ref HQ 115 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Rape (2004)
Ref HV 6558 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender (2001, 2 vols.)
Ref HQ 1115 .E43 2001
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide (2003, 6 vols.)
Ref HQ 1115 .G74 2003
Human Trafficking (2009)
Ref HQ 281 .C85 2009
Misogyny in American Culture: Causes, Trends, and Solutions (2018, 2 vols.)
Ref HQ 1421 .M57 2018
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge (2000, 4 vols.)
Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery (2013, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6556 .S447 2013
Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives (2013, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6250.4 .G57 V558 2013
Violence and Abuse in Society: Understanding a Global Crisis (2012, 4 vols.)
Ref HM 886 .V5592 2012
Women and War: A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present (2006, 2 vols.)
Ref HV 6322.7 .H67 2011
Women's Rights in the United States: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People (2015, 4 vols.)
Ref HQ 1236.5 .U6 W677 2015