LibGuides: Finding Tests, Measures, and Appraisals: Discover Test: Databases

Best Bets- Social Sceince Databases for Finding Measures

Social work encompasses many areas from working with children, adults, veterans, the homeless, the ill and many others. Below are 3 databases that are best bets for starting your search. However, you will also find articles in other databases that deal with specific populations, be sure to check out the Additional Resources as well listed below.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to thousands of contemporary testing instruments.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window
A specialized tool for finding Tests & Measures published in Journal articles.

Guide to the fields in APA PsycTests® records
APA PsycTests database records are divided into fields, which makes searching the databases easier. What goes into each field varies depending on the literature we're documenting.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Research to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
n the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, psychiatry and communications. Includes journals and dissertations from 1967 to the present in one database, and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present in a second database.The databases are in English and the journals covered are in 30 languages from over 45 countries. The databases provide citations, content summaries (for all but the dissertations), and indexing using terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Book records also contain the book's table of contents.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
MEDLINE with full text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals.

Discover a Test in a Dissertation

Dissertation Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
Electronic Theses and Dissertation Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Online masters theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.

Words to Remember

Keywords

There are many words that can be used as synonyms for tests or measures

tool
assessment
review
instrument
survey
measure
scale
inventory
questionnaire
checklist
diagnosis
evaluation
measurement
observation
screening