Skip to Main Content

Ursuline College Copyright Policy

For Administrators, Faculty, and Staff
Library Photocopying

Specific rules govern the duplication of copyrighted material held by the Besse Library:

1. Library patrons may make a single copy of a work for private study, scholarship or research.

2. All photocopying machines must display the following notice:

THE COPYRIGHT LAW OF THE UNITED STATES (TITLE 17 UNITED STATES CODE) GOVERNS THE MAKING OF PHOTOCOPIES OF COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL. THE PERSON USING THIS EQUIPMENT IS LIABLE FOR ANY INFRINGEMENT.

3. A librarian may copy a work from the Library’s collection for the reserve room, for archives, for an interlibrary loan, or for the personal use of a requesting patron. As long as the librarian has no reason to believe (a) the copy will be used for purposes other than private study, scholarship or research, or (b) the Library is participating in the systematic multiple reproduction of copyrighted materials, the librarian need not affirmatively inquire into the use for which the copy is to be made.

4. The librarian must stamp a copyright notice (see III.B.2(d) above) on the first page of any photocopy made for the reserve collection, for archives, for an interlibrary loan, or for personal use.

5. Interlibrary Loan Restrictions:

  1. The Library may not place copyrighted materials, such as books, journals etc., borrowed from another library through interlibrary loan on reserve in the reserve collection.
  1. The Library may make a single copy from its collection for a patron or a patron of another library if it is to be used for private study, scholarship or research.
  1. A requesting library may not ask, without permission, for more than five copies in one calendar year from a given periodical’s last five years. No limiting guidelines are provided for photocopying from periodical titles more than five years old.
  1. Unless permission is obtained, a requesting library may not ask for more than five copies from a single work other than a periodical (i.e. books, including collective works) within a calendar year.
  1. A requesting library must maintain records of its own requests and the filling of those requests for three (3) full calendar years following the calendar year of the request.
  1. The Library must stamp the first page of the copy produced with a copyright notice.
  1. The following “Warning of Copyright” must be printed on the interlibrary loan request form:

NOTICE: WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproductions not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

6. Reserve Collection Requirements:

  1. Faculty members wishing to place materials on reserve must complete a Faculty Reserve Request Form. The Library Staff will not duplicate or accept copyrighted materials for reserve collection use unless the faculty member completes a Faculty Reserve Request Form.
  1. Faculty members may request that the Library place on reserve an original of a copyrighted book from the Library’s collection or their own personal collection without providing the Library with any copyright assurances.
  1. If a faculty member requests that a photocopy of a portion of a book or a journal from the Library’s collection or their own personal collection be placed on reserve, the faculty member must provide, on the Faculty Reserve Form, an assurance (1) that she or he has obtained written permission from the copyright owner/publisher to photocopy the material, or (2) that the College’s photocopy prohibitions have been observed and that the photocopying request is a “fair use” in that it meets the brevity, spontaneity and cumulative effects tests set out above.
  1. A reminder of copyright protection considerations must be displayed on the Faculty Request Form used to place material on reserve.
  1. After having received the completed form, the Library will copy a work or portion of a work in the Library’s collection to be placed on reserve for student use. The librarian will place a copyright warning on the photocopy.
  1. Because “fair use” photocopying for the reserve collection only permits spontaneous copying so that faculty members have coverage of current information, faculty members must obtain permission from the copyright owner if the material is to remain on reserve more than one semester.
  1. The same copyright requirements listed above apply to any materials placed on electronic reserve.
Subjects: Library