Skip to Main Content
Ursuline College Library Logo
My Library Record

Sociology: Find Books

Search the Reference Collection

The Besse Library has an extensive collection of  reference works in print and online as e-books.  Make sure to take full advantage of these collections, both in print and online.

Types of reference works include:

  • subject guides
  • encyclopedias on a specific topic
  • biographical dictionaries
  • directories (for people and associations)
  • historical atlases and almanacs
  • subject handbooks
  • subject bibliographies

 

To find Reference Books in the Catalog:

Use the names of reference types in keyword searches to find a reference work that address your topic.

  • keyword search example = (“encyclopedia OR dictionary OR handbook”) AND (research topic keywords)

If the reference source is not available electronically, make sure to note the location of the print reference source in the catalog entry.

Find Books & Ebooks

Search for Books in the Library

 
Search Tips:
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.

Search for Reference Books in the Library

 

Search Tips:
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.
  • Use reference books to get a broad overview of your topic!
  • Many reference books have a Table of Contents (in the front of the book) and an Index (in the back of the book).  Search both of these places for your keywords to see what pages to turn to so you can read about your topic.

Search for Ebooks

 

Search Tips:
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.
  • Ebooks are keyword searchable, so you can quickly find what you're looking for within the text.
  • Ebooks can be accessed anywhere!

Search the OhioLINK catalog

 

Search Tips:
  • Not seeing any materials that you want in Ursuline Library's catalog? Try searching the OhioLINK catalog!
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.

 

How to Request OhioLINK materials:
  1. From the OhioLINK search results, click on the title of the item that you're interested in.
    • You will only be able to request materials that have an "Available" status.
  2. Under Library Holdings, click on the green Request button. OhioLINK Request button
  3. Select "Ursuline College" from the dropdown menu and click Submit.
  4. Fill out the Request Verification form with your name (i.e. Jane Doe) and your Ursuline ID # (i.e. 1234567).
  5. Click Submit.
    • Your OhioLINK materials should arrive at Ursuline College Library for you to pick up within 2-3 business days.
    • You will get an email when your OhioLINK books are available for pick up.