LibGuides: Sociology: Find Articles

LibKey Nomad Description

Find an article you like with Google Scholar? Is it stuck behind a paywall?

LibKey Nomad easily connects researchers to full text articles that the library has provided access to when using sites such as Google Scholar, PubMed, websites, and publisher pages; instantly and in one-click!

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers.

At this time, LibKey Nomad is only for computers and laptops. It does not work on phones or tablets.

Download Nomad to your device

Find Full Text

Find the Full Text

When you're going through your search results, there are a few ways to find the full-text of an article:

	Click on the PDF Full Text link.
	Click on the Find it! button to find the article through another resource.
Journal Finder	Don't see a PDF Full Text link or Find it! button? Try searching for the journal title (i.e. American Journal of Nursing) in Journal Finder.
Article Request	Still can't find the full-text?! Submit an Article Request form. Please note that it may take several days to process your request!

Best Bets-Sociology and Criminology Databases for Finding Articles

Below are 3 databases that are best bets for starting your search. However, you will also find articles in other databases that deal with specific populations, be sure to check out the Additional Resources as well listed below.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on criminal justice and criminology research including forensic sciences, prisons, policing, criminal law, and investigation
Full text database covering criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on law enforcement and criminal justice
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on sociology, gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work

Additional Article Databases that cover areas of Sociology and Crime

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research in nursing and allied health
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles covering education research at all levels
ERIC This link opens in a new window
First choice of those conducting research in Education
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines "Women's Studies International" and "Men's Studies" databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications covering LGBTQ+ issues.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.). This database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. International in scope.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects..

Very Short Introductions are an introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Scholarly publications covering Women's Studies

Sociology: Find Articles

LibKey Nomad Description

Find an article you like with Google Scholar? Is it stuck behind a paywall?

Find Full Text

Find the Full Text

Best Bets-Sociology and Criminology Databases for Finding Articles

Additional Article Databases that cover areas of Sociology and Crime

Services

For Faculty

About

FAQ

Ralph M. Besse Library