Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 332: British Literature II: Literary Criticism

Finding Literary Criticism: Books

Finding Literary Criticism: Books

Try a Keyword search in the Catalog with the author's name.

Tip: An author search for an author's name will bring up books by the author, not about him or her. Use the author's name and criticism or interpretation to find results. For example: Dickinson, Emily and criticism.

A Subject search can be done with the author's last name, and first name (Plath, Sylvia). Then look for subheadings criticism and interpretation.

You might also check to see if a bibliography has been published on the author you're researching. To search the catalog for these, try the author's name and "bibliography" as a keyword search. Example: plath bibliography

Literary Criticism: Journal Articles

Finding Literary Criticism: Journal Articles

First things first: you're looking for literary criticism within journals, not book reviews. A work of literary criticism differs from a book review in that it is typically a more in-depth critique of a work, and it's most often intended for an academic audience.

To find literary criticism, search keywords like the title of the work, author's name, and themes.


Question: Where Do I Find Journal Articles?!

Answer: Databases! (You will not find journal articles on Google, sad to say...)


Database Basics

  1. Search for your author.
  2. Search for your author's work of interest.
  3. Use the suggested subjects that the database recommends.
  4. Choose source type Academic Journal.
  5. Search MLA International Bibliography and Humanities International Complete at the same time with CHOOSE DATABASES above the search box on the results page
  6. In Literary Reference Center Plus, limit to source type literary criticism.

Searching Tips and Tricks

Find Books & Ebooks

Search for Books in the Library

 
Search Tips:
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.

Search for Reference Books in the Library

 

Search Tips:
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.
  • Use reference books to get a broad overview of your topic!
  • Many reference books have a Table of Contents (in the front of the book) and an Index (in the back of the book).  Search both of these places for your keywords to see what pages to turn to so you can read about your topic.

Search for Ebooks

 

Search Tips:
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.
  • Ebooks are keyword searchable, so you can quickly find what you're looking for within the text.
  • Ebooks can be accessed anywhere!

Search the OhioLINK catalog

 

Search Tips:
  • Not seeing any materials that you want in Ursuline Library's catalog? Try searching the OhioLINK catalog!
  • Search one to two keywords for best results.

 

How to Request OhioLINK materials:
  1. From the OhioLINK search results, click on the title of the item that you're interested in.
    • You will only be able to request materials that have an "Available" status.
  2. Under Library Holdings, click on the green Request button. OhioLINK Request button
  3. Select "Ursuline College" from the dropdown menu and click Submit.
  4. Fill out the Request Verification form with your name (i.e. Jane Doe) and your Ursuline ID # (i.e. 1234567).
  5. Click Submit.
    • Your OhioLINK materials should arrive at Ursuline College Library for you to pick up within 2-3 business days.
    • You will get an email when your OhioLINK books are available for pick up.

Databases To Try

Can't Find the Article?

If you know the journal title:

Use our Journal Finder.

 

If you can't find PDF Full Text:

Look for the Full Text Finder link.

 

If the article isn't online:

Request it through Article Request.