Children's Literature

The Children's Core Collection, (23rd Edition, 2018) is a guide of approximately 12,000 books, covering fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels and magazines recommended for readers from preschool through grade six. It is a comprehensive list of recommended books for children, together with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.

This unique book is written for teachers, parents, librarians and anyone who is seeking quality literature for children (preschoolers through grade 6). The book is filled with wide-ranging lists of titles organized by grade level, theme, and content areas. This comprehensive resource simplifies your search by selecting the most useful information from websites, teacher resources, award listings, and publications that are available on children's literature. For quick access and easy use, the lists are printed in full-page format and organized into five sections.  

With 1,200 biographical-critical entries and nearly 100 topical articles all written by experts in the field, this work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures.

Middle & Junior High School Core Collection, (13th Edition, 2017) is a guide to over 10,000 fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents, grades five through nine.

Wilson's Senior High Core Collection (19th Edition) identifies the best, most current material available to your library. It includes a main, library-bound guide to over 10,000 books plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It has been three years since the last edition, so this new update is a must-have source for collection development in high school libraries. The Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for grades 9 through 12. Titles are selected by an editorial team of librarians as well as a librarian advisory group--all of them experts in library services to adolescents and young adults. The Collection is a valuable tool for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support for the high school library or institution supporting high school students. Richly enhanced records provide a wealth of useful information. Entries include: Complete bibliographic data Subject headings, annotations, grade level, Dewey classification and cover art Quotations from select reviews The Senior High Core Collection provides broad new coverage of biographies, art, sports, Islam, the Middle East, cultural diversity, science, computers and social networking, and new technologies in libraries.

Whether used for thematic story times, program and curriculum planning, readers' advisory, or collection development, this updated edition of the well-known companion makes finding the right picture books for your library a breeze. Generations of savvy librarians and educators have relied on this detailed subject guide to children's picture books for all aspects of children's services, and this new edition does not disappoint. Covering more than 18,000 books published through 2017, it empowers users to identify current and classic titles on topics ranging from apples to zebras. Organized simply, with a subject guide that categorizes subjects by theme and topic and subject headings arranged alphabetically, this reference applies more than 1,200 intuitive (as opposed to formal catalog) subject terms to children's picture books, making it both a comprehensive and user-friendly resource that is accessible to parents and teachers as well as librarians. It can be used to identify titles to fill in gaps in library collections, to find books on particular topics for young readers, to help teachers locate titles to support lessons, or to design thematic programs and story times. Title and illustrator indexes, in addition to a bibliographic guide arranged alphabetically by author name, further extend access to titles. Offers easy subject access to children's picture books Features a user-friendly organization Provides in-depth indexing and full bibliographic detail