Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images & Copyright
Planning on using images in your paper or presentation? Click on the chart below to see if you have the legal and ethical right to use an image.
Can I Use that Picture? | Curtis Newbold via Visually
Where Can I Find Images?
What is Artstor?
Artstor is a digital image library with over 2 million images from 300 of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.
Why should I use Artstor to find images?
- Images are high-resolution.
- You can download high-quality image details by zooming into the image.
- Easily browse images by keyword, date, geography and/or classification.
- Images are cleared for educational use.
- Artstor automatically generates citations for images.
How do I use Artstor?
Using Artstor is a great webpage to learn how to use Artstor!
Search the CMA collection online.
The British Museum’s database contains images of almost 2 million objects from the entire Museum collection.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
LACMA has about 20,000 high-res digital downloads for any use.
Getty Research Institute
Currently, there are more than 87,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. Images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints, and architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met recently released a vast archive of 400,000 (mostly) high-resolution digital Images online that you can download and use for non-commercial use.
National Gallery of Art, Washington DC
The collection, which focuses on the major schools of European and American painting, sculpture, graphic arts, and decorative arts from the 12th through the 20th century.
National Gallery, London
The National Gallery, London houses one of the greatest collections of Western European painting in the world.
This database contains over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.