Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religions, Culture and Healthcare by
Publication Date: 2009
Provides practical and comprehensive information on each of the major faiths, providing an accessible reference for appropriate day to day care of patients in multicultural societies.
World Religions for Healthcare Professionals by
Publication Date: 2017
Provides healthcare professionals with a basic knowledge of health beliefs and practices in world religions such as American Indian Religions, Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism as well as selected new religious movements. It explores how various religious traditions view sickness, health, birth, and death.
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Cultural Health Assessment by
Publication Date: 2008
Discusses the clinical implications of ethnic populations from over 170 countries with a wealth of information on each--from languages spoken to health care beliefs and practices to eye contact. Alphabetically organized by country with all sections presented consistently to give you quick access to important cultural information.
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations: A Handbook for Practitioners and Students by
Publication Date: 2014
Explores the context of culture, cross-cultural perceptions of health, conceptual approaches to multicultural health promotion, health disparities, the contributions of multicultural populations, and more. Using the Cultural Assessment Framework (CAF), this handbook includes a focus on six specific populations (Hispanic/Latino, African American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Asian American, Pacific Islanders, and Arab Americans).
Multicultural America by
Publication Date: 2011
This encyclopedia contains 50 thorough profiles of the most numerically significant immigrant groups now making their homes in the United States. This resource is not specific to healthcare worker concerns, but provides general information about groups that often includes health practices and other relevant issues.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today by
Publication Date: 2013
This essential reference examines the history, culture, and modern tribal concerns of American Indians in North America. While not focused on healthcare, there is significant content concerning health and health practices.
Health and the American Indian by
Publication Date: 1999
Discusses contemporary health and social concerns in American Indian communities and offers recommendations for prevention, treatment, and research.