Systematic Phonics

The only comprehensive reference to the development and present state of American education, ""Encyclopedia of American Education, Third Edition"" includes more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. This authoritative three-volume reference provides a wealth of information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Author Harlow G. Unger, one of the country's foremost education experts, has substantially updated existing entries and added more than 40 new entries. Appendixes include significant federal legislation, important U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and lists of undergraduate majors and graduate school programs. More than 10 new photographs have been added to this edition, and more than half a dozen experts in education served as editorial consultants for this encyclopedia.

The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. The study of curriculum, beginning in the early 20th century, served primarily the areas of school administration and teaching and was seen as a method to design and develop programs of study. The field subsequently expanded to draw upon disciplines from the arts, humanities, and social sciences and to examine larger educational forces and their effects upon the individual, society, and conceptions of knowledge. Curriculum studies has now emerged to embrace an expansive and contested conception of academic scholarship while focusing upon a diverse and complex dynamic among educational experiences, practices, settings, actions, and theories in relation to personal and institutional needs and interests. The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies serves to inform and to introduce terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts to assist the reader in understanding aspects of this rapidly changing field of study. Representative topics include: Origins, definitions, dimensions, and variations on Curriculum Studies Curriculum development and design for schools Curricular purpose, implementation, and evaluation Contemporary issues, e.g., standards, tests, and accountability Curricular dimensions of teaching and teacher education Interdisciplinary perspectives on institutionalized curriculum Informal curricula of homes, mass media, workplaces, organizations, and relationships Impact of race, class, gender, health, belief, appearance, place, ethnicity, language Relationships of curriculum and poverty, wealth, and related factors Modes of curriculum inquiry and research Curriculum as cultural studies, exploring the formation of identities and possibilities Corporate, state, church, and military influence as curriculum Global and international perspectives on curriculum Curriculum organizations, journals, and resources Summaries of books and articles on curriculum studies Biographic vignettes of key persons in curriculum studies Relevant photographs

This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

Education is a field sometimes beset by theories-of-the-day and with easy panaceas that overpromise the degree to which they can alleviate pressing educational problems. The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, this work offers essays on cutting-edge research and concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.Features: Over 300 signed entries by trusted experts in the field are organized into two volumes and overseen by a distinguished general editor and an international editorial board. Entries are followed by cross references and further reading suggestions. A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically The Reader's Guide, detailed index, and cross references combine for strong search-and-browse capabilities in the electronic version. Available in a choice of print or electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy is an ideal reference for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary educational theory. Key Themes: Aims of Education Classic Premodern Philosophers, Theories, and Theorists Curriculum Educational Research, Evaluation, and Testing Equity, Rights, Social Stratification, and Citizenship Higher Education Learners, Learning, and Teaching Liberal Education Moral, Religious, Spiritual, and Social/Cultural Values Multiculturalism and Special Populations Organization of Schooling Philosophy of Science, Sociology of Science, and Epistemology Philosophy of Education: Feminist Perspectives Philosophy of Education: Nonwestern Traditions Philosophy of Education: The Analytic Tradition Philosophy of Education: The Continental Traditions Philosophy of Education: The Political Theory Tradition Philosophy of Education: The Pragmatic Tradition Progressive Education Psychological Orientation in Educational Theory Social Sciences Orientation in Educational Theory

Cognition, mind, counseling psychology, lesson plans, learning styles, and Vygotsky are just a few of the many subjects discussed in this exciting work. Educators, students, counselors, parents, and others will find new understanding as they read and browse. How does the immigrant experience affect student outcomes? What are the effects of poverty on standardized testing? How can a teacher or parent develop study skills in the special needs learner? What is the effect of the school environment on students? What are the larger issues at work in educating students of diverse races, cultures, and classes. This work, a rethinking of school psychology, will be an essential resource for anyone who is interested in teaching and learning. It combines effective, traditional knowledge with contemporary insights into the nature of today's schools and students.