Skip to Main Content

RS 342: History of Christianity: Home

A course guide for RS 342 History of Christianity

Selected Besse Library Books

A Short History of Christianity

A Short History of Christianity
BR 145.3 .B57 2014

The Collegeville Church History Time-Line

The Collegeville Church History Time-Line
BX 945.2 .K44 2005

The Evolution of Christianity

The Evolution of Christianity: Twelve Crises That Shaped the Church
BR 145.3 .J64 2005

A Concise History of the Crusades

A Concise History of the Crusades
D 157 .M33 1999

A Short History of Christianity

A Short History of Christianity
BR 145.3 .T66 2006

Heart of Europe: A History of the Holy Roman Empire

Heart of Europe: A History of the Holy Roman Empire
DD 125 .W55 2016

A History of Christianity in Asia

A History of Christianity
in Asia
BR 1065 .M63 1998

The Reformation

The Reformation: A Very Short Introduction
online e-book

The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity

The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity
BR 145.2 .O86 1990

Building the Kingdom: A History of Mormons in America

Building the Kingdom: A History of Mormons
in America
online e-book

A Short History of the Papacy in the Middle Ages

A Short History of the Papacy in the Middle Ages
online e-book

Church History 101

Church History 101: A Concise Overview
BR 145.3 .B45 2008

Late Ancient Christianity

Late Ancient Christianity
BR 195 .C5 L27 2005

Canaan Land: A Religious History of African Americans

Canaan Land: A Religious History of African Americans
BR 563 .N4 R237 2001

1517: Martin Luther and the Invention of the Reformation

1517: Martin Luther and the Invention of the Reformation
online e-book

The Puritans

The Puritans: A Transatlantic History
online e-book

The American Catholic Experience

The American Catholic Experience: A History from Colonial Times to the Present
BX 1406.2 .D637 1987

The Oxford History of the Reformation

The Oxford History of
the Reformation
online e-book

The Chair of Saint Peter: A History of the Papacy

The Chair of Saint Peter: A History of the Papacy
BX 955.2 .L35 1999

Key to Abbreviations


KEY TO ABBREVIATIONS
 

AFR Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
BCC The Blackwell Companion to Catholicism
BEC Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
BEWH Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
CE The Crusades: An Encyclopedia
CEJ The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan
CIHR The Cambridge Illustrated History of Religions
DAH Dictionary of American History
DCA Dictionary of Christianity in America
DEM Dictionary of the Ecumenical Movement
DMA Dictionary of the Middle Ages
EACH The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History
EAH Encyclopedia of Asian History
EAHC Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
EAMH Encyclopedia of American History
EARH Encyclopedia of American Religious History
EAWR Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion
ECRA The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America
ECST Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy
EDR Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion
EEC Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
EFS Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
EI Encyclopedia of India
EJ Encyclopaedia Judaica
ELHC Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
EM Encyclopedia of Mormonism
EMA Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
ENAC Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
EP The Encyclopedia of Protestantism
ER Encyclopedia of Religion
ERA Encyclopedia of Religion in America
ERR The European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600
ESN Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
ESTN Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
ETAH Encyclopedia of twentieth-Century African History
ETR Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
EUNC Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
EWF The Encyclopedia of World Faiths: An Illustrated Survey of the World's Living Religions
EWR Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
EWWR Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
HBC The HarperCollins Bible Commentary
HDC Historical Dictionary of Catholicism
HDEC Historical Dictionary of Ecumenical Christianity
HEC The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism
HLRE Handbook to Life in Renaissance Europe
HNAI Handbook of North American Indians
JIE Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
KEJ Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
MCE The Modern Catholic Encyclopedia
MEAR Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
MEET Medieval Europe, 814-1350
MFE Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
MGE Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia
MJC Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia
NBC New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition
NCE New Catholic Encyclopedia
NEA New Encyclopedia of Africa
NHLR A New Handbook of Living Religions
OCCT The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought
OCMH The Oxford Companion to Military History
OEIW The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
OEMC The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America
OER The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
PE The Papacy: An Encyclopedia
RW Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
WRI The World of Renaissance Italy

Reference Books

Why Use a Reference Book?

Reference books are designed to provide you with an introduction to a given topic.

 

SELECTED INTRODUCTORY BOOK ARTICLES ABOUT CHRISTIAN HISTORY

All of the articles below are located in books in the library's reference collection (2nd floor). Reference books do not leave the library.

Each entry below is accompanied with an abbreviation for the book title and a call number. A key for book title abbreviations appears in the left-hand column of this page.

 

THE BIBLE

  • "Biblical History" (pp. 20-42) NBC Ref BS 491.2 .N45 1994
  • "Biblical Literature in Its Historical Context: The Apocrypha and the New Testament" (pp. 28-38) HBC Ref BS 491.2 .H37 2000
  • "Biblical Literature in Its Historical Context: The Old Testament" (pp. 28-38) HBC Ref BS 491.2 .H37 2000
  • "English" [Bibles printed in] (vol. 3, pp. 611-27) EJ Ref DS 102.8 .E496 2007


CHRISTIANITY (GENERAL)

  • "Christianity" (pp. 232-45) CIHR Ref BL 80.2 .C334 2002
  • "Christianity" (vol. 2, pp. 162-66) DAH Ref E 174 .D52 2003
  • "Christianity" [Women] (vol. 1, pp. 149-79) EWWR Ref BL 458 .E53 1999
  • "Christianity" (pp. 59-92) NHLR Ref BL 80.2 .H275 1997
  • "Christianity" (vol. 2, pp. 633-47) RW Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2010
  • "Christianity: An Overview" (vol. 3, pp. 1660-72) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity: To the Eleventh Century" (pp. 68-76) EWF Ref BL80.2 .E495 1988
  • "Church, Early" (vol. 3, pp. 337-43) DMA Ref D 114 .D5


CHRISTIANITY (GEOGRAPHICAL) — see also Christianity -- Mission(s) below

  • "Africa, Early Church in Roman" (vol. A-E, pp. 61-62) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "African Christianity (Contemporary)" (vol. A-E, pp. 62-64) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "African Independent Church Movement" (vol. A-E, pp. 64-66) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Christian Impact on India, History of" (vol. 1, pp. 247-52) EI Ref DS 405 .E556 2006
  • "Christianity" [Africa] (vol. 1, pp. 55-57) EAHC Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
  • "Christianity" [Africa] (vol. 2, pp. 44-47) EAHC Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
  • "Christianity" [Africa] (pp. 83-89) ETAH Ref DT 29 .E53 2003
  • "Christianity" [Asia] (vol. 1, pp. 310-16) EAH Ref DS31 .E53
  • "Christianity" [China] (vol. 1, pp. 387-93) BEC Ref DS 735 .A2 B47 2009
  • "Christianity" [Japan] (pp. 178-80) CEJ Ref DS 805 .C36 1993
  • "Christianity" [Japan] (vol. 1, pp. 198-200) JIE Ref DS 805 .J263 1993
  • "Christianity" [Japan] (vol. 1, pp. 306-10) KEJ Ref DS 805 .K633 1983
  • "Christianity: Africa and World Christianity" (vol. 1, pp. 389-91) NEA Ref DT 2 .N48 2008
  • "Christianity, African: An Overview" (vol. 2, pp. 66-69) AFR Ref DT 14 .A37435 2005
  • "Christianity: African Instituted Churches" (vol. 1, pp. 391-98) NEA Ref DT 2 .N48 2008
  • "Christianity in the Middle East" (vol. 3, pp. 1672-77) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in North Africa" (vol. 3, pp. 1677-80) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Eastern Europe" (vol. 3, pp. 1680-87) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Western Europe" (vol. 3, pp. 1687-94) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Latin America" (vol. 3, pp. 1694-1705) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in the Caribbean Region" (vol. 3, pp. 1706-1708) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in North America" (vol. 3, pp. 1708-17) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Sub-Saharan Africa [First Edition]" (vol. 3, pp. 1717-23) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Sub-Saharan Africa [Further Considerations]" (vol. 3, pp. 1723-25) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Asia" (vol. 3, pp. 1725-31) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in Australia and New Zealand" (vol. 3, pp. 1731-37) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in the Pacific Islands [First Edition]" (vol. 3, pp. 1737-40) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity in the Pacific Islands [Further Considerations]" (vol. 3, pp. 1740-41) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Christianity, Influence of" [Africa] (vol. 2, pp. 47-48) EAHC Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
  • "Christianity, Influence of" [Africa] (vol. 3, pp. 52-54) EAHC Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
  • "Christianity, Influence of" [Africa] (vol. 4, pp. 83-86) EAHC Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
  • "Christianity, Influence of" [Africa] (vol. 5, pp. 87-89) EAHC Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
  • "Christianity: Overview" [Africa] (vol. 1, pp. 380-89) NEA Ref DT 2 .N48 2008


CHRISTIANITY -- ECUMENISM AND COUNCILS

  • "Chalcedon, Council of" (vol. 3, pp. 363-66) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Chalcedon, Council of" (pp. 106-07) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Council" (vol. 1, pp. 376-77) EMA Ref D 114 .E53 2000
  • "Council of Trent and Catholic Reform" (vol. 2, pp. 575-78) WRI Ref DG 445 .W67 2017
  • "Councils" (pp. 139-40) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Councils: Christian Councils" (vol. 3, pp. 2039-46) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Councils, Ecumenical" (vol. 1, pp. 427-30) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Councils (Ecumenical, 325-787)" (vol. 3, pp. 627-31) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Councils, General (Ecumenical), History of" (vol. 4, pp. 298-303) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Councils, Western (869-1179)" (vol. 3, pp. 632-39) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Councils, Western (1215-1274)" (vol. 3, pp. 639-42) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Councils, Western (1311-1449)" (vol. 3, pp. 642-56) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Ecumenical Conferences" (pp. 325-36) DEM Ref BX 8.2 .D53 1991
  • "Ecumenical Councils" (pp. 336-39) DEM Ref BX 8.2 .D53 1991
  • "Ecumenical Councils" (pp. 452-54) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Ecumenical Councils to Trent" (pp. 256-63) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Ecumenical Movement" (vol. 1, pp. 346-48) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Ecumenical Movement" (vol. A-E, pp. 1157-58) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Ecumenical Movement" (vol. 4, pp. 2683-91) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Ecumenical Movement" (vol. 5, pp. 71-80) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Ecumenical Movement" (pp. 189-91) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Ecumenism" (vol. 1, pp. 343-44) ECST Ref BX 1753 .E595 2007
  • "Ecumenism" (vol. 2, pp. 634-39) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Ecumenism" (vol. 2, pp. 599-607) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Ecumenism" (pp. 264-65) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Introduction" [Ecumenism] (pp. 1-19) HDEC Ref BX 6.3 .V36 1994
  • "Nicaea, Council of" (pp. 477) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Nicaea, Council of; Nicene Creed" (vol. 2, pp. 810-12) EEC Ref BR 162.2 .E53 1997
  • "Roman Catholic Church" (pp. 876-82) DEM Ref BX 8.2 .D53 1991
  • "Trent, Council of" (vol. 6, pp. 71-75) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Trent, Council of" (pp. 1267-68) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Trent, Council of" (vol. 14, pp. 168-76) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Trent, Council of" (pp. 714-15) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Trent, Council of" (vol. 4, pp. 173-77) OER Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • "Trent, Council of" (vol. 3, pp. 1517-23) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Vatican I, Council of" (pp. 737-38) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Vatican I (Ecumenical Council of)" (vol. 3, pp. 1565-69) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Vatican II, Council of" (pp. 738-39) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Vatican II (Ecumenical Council of)" (vol. 3, pp. 1569-86) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Vatican Council I" (pp. 1296-98) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Vatican Council I" (pp. 855-56) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Vatican Council I" (vol. 14, pp. 403-07) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Vatican Council II" (pp. 1299-1306) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Vatican Council II" (pp. 856-62) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Vatican Council II" (vol. 14, pp. 407-18) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Vatican Councils" (vol. O-Z, pp. 3642-44) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Vatican Councils: Vatican I" (vol. 14, pp. 9528-33) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Vatican Councils: Vatican II [First Edition]" (vol. 14, pp. 9533-39) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Vatican Councils: Vatican II [Further Considerations]" (vol. 14, pp. 9539-42) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005


CHRISTIANITY -- GREAT AWAKENINGS AND REVIVALISM

  • "Awakening, Second" (vol. 1, pp. 377-79) DAH Ref E 174 .D52 2003
  • "Awakenings" (vol. 1, pp. 139-50) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Great Awakening" (vol. 4, pp. 38-39) DAH Ref E 174 .D52 2003
  • "Great Awakening" (pp. 494-96) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Great Awakening" (vol. 2, pp. 147-49) EAMH Ref E 174 .E53 2003
  • "Great Awakening" (vol. 2, pp. 445-48) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Great Awakening" (pp. 173-75) ECRA Ref E188 .E63 1990
  • "Great Awakening(s)" (vol. 2, pp. 913-21) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Revivalism" (vol. 3, pp. 842-45) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Revivalism" (vol. O-Z, pp. 3041-42) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Revivalism" (vol. 3, pp. 112-14) EUNC Ref E 169.1 .E626 2001
  • "Revivalism" [women] (vol. 1, pp. 416-24) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Revivalism" (vol. 12, pp. 204-05) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Revivalism" (pp. 622-23) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Revivalism and the Great Awakening" (vol. 3, pp. 665-84) ENAC Ref E 45 .E53 1993
  • "Revivalism: Nineteenth Century" (vol. 4, pp. 1939-46) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Revivalism: Twentieth Century to the Present" (vol. 4, pp. 1946-54) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Revivals" (vol. 3, pp. 1609-11) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Second Great Awakening" (pp. 1067-68) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Second Great Awakening" (vol. 4, pp. 310-11) EAMH Ref E 174 .E53 2003
  • "Second Great Awakening" (vol. 3, pp. 899-902) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Second Great Awakening" (vol. O-Z, pp. 3237-38) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494


CHRISTIANITY -- MISSION(S) — see also Christianity (Geographical) above

  • "American Catholic Women Missionaries, 1870-2000" (vol. 2, pp. 843-50) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Christianity: Missionaries in Africa" (vol. 2, pp. 73--76) AFR Ref DT 14 .A37435 2005
  • "Christianity: Missionary Enterprise" [Africa] (vol. 1, pp. 398-408) NEA Ref DT 2 .N48 2008
  • "Jesuits" [Asia] (vol. 2, pp. 209-14) EAH Ref DS31 .E53
  • "Mission" (vol. 3, pp. 831-34) CE Ref D 155 .C78 2006
  • "Mission" (pp. 440-42) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Mission Communities" [North America] (vol. 2, pp. 133-54) ENAC Ref E 45 .E53 1993
  • "Mission History, I: Catholic" (vol. 9, pp. 690-93) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission History, II: Orthodox" (vol. 9, pp. 693-96) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission History, III: Protestant" (vol. 9, pp. 697-701) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission in Colonial America, I (Spanish Missions)" (vol. 9, pp. 701-18) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission in Colonial America, II (Portuguese Missions)" (vol. 9, pp. 718-20) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission in Colonial America, III (French Missions)" (vol. 9, pp. 720-24) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission in Colonial America, IV (English Missions)" (vol. 9, pp. 724-26) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mission in Postcolonial Latin America" (vol. 9, pp. 726-28) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Missionaries" [Women] (vol. 1, pp. 369-71) EAWR Ref BL 2525 .B45 2017
  • "Missionaries (Abroad), American Catholic" (pp. 932-38) EACH BX 1406.2 .E53 1997
  • "Missionary Organizations" (vol. 3, pp. 1254-59) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Missionary Societies" [Women] (vol. 1, pp. 371-73) EAWR Ref BL 2525 .B45 2017
  • "Missions" (vol. F-N, pp. 2389-91) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Missions" [Latin America] (vol. 4, pp. 626-34) ELHC Ref F 1406 .E53 2008
  • "Missions" (vol. 3, pp. 1259-62) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Missions" (vol. 3, pp. 1527-29) ESTN Ref D 299 .E735 2006
  • "Missions" (pp. 274-77) HDC Ref BX 945.2 .C65 1997
  • "Missions" (pp. 871-75) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Missions" (vol. 3, pp. 67-69) OER Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • "Missions" (vol. 2, pp. 996-1005) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Missions, African-Americans and" (pp. 747-49) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions and Missionaries: Asia" (vol. 4, pp. 144-48) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Missions and Missionaries: Spanish America" (vol. 4, pp. 148-51) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Missions and Missionaries, Christian" (vol. 8, pp. 439-45) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Missions, British" (vol. 3, pp. 1263-73) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Missions, Catholic, the Modern Period" (pp. 552-55) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Missions, Christian" (vol. 4, pp. 159-64) ETR Ref CB 361 .E52 1999
  • "Missions: Christian Missions" (vol. 9, pp. 6082-87) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Missions: Domestic" (vol. 3, pp. 1411-17) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Missions, Evangelical Foreign" (pp. 749-53) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions, Foreign" (vol. 2, pp. 639-43) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Missions: Foreign" (vol. 3, pp. 1417-21) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Missions, Germany" (vol. 3, pp. 1273-79) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Missions, Home" (vol. 2, pp. 643-48) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Missions in Colonial America, English" (pp. 939-46) EACH BX 1406.2 .E53 1997
  • "Missions in Colonial America, French" (pp. 946-54) EACH BX 1406.2 .E53 1997
  • "Missions in Colonial America, Spanish" (pp. 954-62) EACH BX 1406.2 .E53 1997
  • "Missions: Native American" (vol. 3, pp. 1421-27) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Missions, North American" (vol. 3, pp. 1279-86) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Missions, Protestant Mainline Foreign" (pp. 753-56) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions, Roman Catholic Foreign" (pp. 756-57) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions (Spread of Christianity" (vol. 2, pp. 758-62) EEC Ref BR 162.2 .E53 1997
  • "Missions to Jews" (vol. 3, pp. 1286-88) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Missions to Native Americans, Protestant" (pp. 759-60) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions to North America, French" (pp. 760-61) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions to North America, Spanish" (pp. 761-63) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Missions to the Slaves" (pp. 763-64) DCA Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
  • "Mormon Missions to the Indians" (vol. 4, pp. 459-63) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "Protestant Churches and the Indians" (vol. 4, pp. 430-58) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "Protestant Women Missionaries: Foreign and Home" (vol. 2, pp. 834-43) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Roman Catholic Missions in California and the Southwest" (vol. 4, pp. 472-80) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "Roman Catholic Missions in New France" (vol. 4, pp. 464-71) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "Roman Catholic Missions in the Arctic" (vol. 4, pp. 501-05) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "Roman Catholic Missions in the the Northwest" (vol. 4, pp. 494-500) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "Roman Catholic Missions in the Southeast and the Northeast" (vol. 4, pp. 481-93) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25
  • "The Russian Orthodox Church in Alaska" (vol. 4, pp. 506-21) HNAI Ref E 77 .H25


CHRISTIANITY -- REFORMATION AND COUNTER-REFORMATION

  • "Catholic Reformation" (vol. 1, pp. 287-93) OER Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • "Catholic Reformation and Counter-Reformation" (vol. 1, pp. 367-72) ETR Ref  CB 361 .E52 1999
  • "Catholic Reformation, Counter-Reformation" (pp. 374-79) ERR Ref CB 359 .W67 2001
  • "Church Reform" (pp. 380-84) MEET Ref D 102 .M38 2002
  • "Counter Reformation" (vol. 4, pp. 308-14) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Counter-Reformation" (vol. 1, pp. 521-23) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Counter-Reformation" (pp. 140-41) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Martin Luther and the Reformation" (pp. 400-05) ERR Ref CB 359 .W67 2001
  • "Protestant Reformation" (pp. 47-54) HLRE Ref CB 361 .S498 2005
  • "Reformation" (pp. 848-50) DEM Ref BX 8.2 .D53 1991
  • "Reformation" (vol. 3, pp. 1594-1600) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Reformation" (vol. 11, pp. 7656-65) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Reformation" (pp. 601-02) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Reformation, The" (pp. 1091-94) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Reformation, The" (pp. 691-99) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "The Reformation" (pp. 63-80) BCC Ref BX 880 .B53 2007
  • "The Reformation" (pp. 96, 105-25) EWF Ref BL80.2 .E495 1988
  • "Reformation (1517-65)" (vol. 3, pp. 1285-90) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Reformation, Catholic" (vol. 5, pp. 145-50) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Reformation, Protestant" (vol. 5, pp. 150-58) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Reformation, Protestant (in the British Isles)" (vol. 12, pp. 5-11) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Reformation, Protestant (on the Continent)" (vol. 12, pp. 11-22) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Reformations in Eastern Europe: Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox" (vol. 5, pp. 158-61) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "The Spread of the Reformation" (pp. 405-11) ERR Ref CB 359 .W67 2001

CATHOLICISM

  • "The Ascent of the Roman Church" (pp. 372-75) MEET Ref D 102 .M38 2002
  • "Byzantine Church" (vol. 2, pp. 458-71) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Catholic Church" (pp. 242-53) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "Catholic Church" (pp. 34-47) HLRE Ref CB 361 .S498 2005
  • "Catholicism" (vol. 1, pp. 419-27) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Catholicism" (vol. 1, pp. 522-32) ESN Ref D 424 .E94 2006
  • "Catholicism" (vol. 1, pp. 377-86) ESTN Ref D 299 .E735 2006
  • "Catholicism" (pp. 101-02) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Christianity: Orthodox Christianity" (vol. 1, pp. 436-41) ETR Ref CB 361 .E52 1999
  • "Christianity: The Western Church" (vol. 1, pp. 431-36) ETR Ref CB 361 .E52 1999
  • "Church, History of (Early)" (vol. 3, pp. 590-97) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Church, History of (Medieval)" (vol. 3, pp. 597-606) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Church, History of (Early Modern: 1500-1789)" (vol. 3, pp. 607-16) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Church, History of (Late Modern: 1789-2002)" (vol. 3, pp. 616-29) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Church, Latin: 1054 to 1305" (vol. 3, pp. 350-61) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Church, Latin: 1305 to 1500" (vol. 3, pp. 361-72) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Church, Latin: To 1054" (vol. 3, pp. 343-50) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "The Church of the East" (pp. 81-87) EWF Ref BL80.2 .E495 1988
  • "Church, The" (pp. 162-66) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Dissenters, the Orthodox, and Jews" (pp. 384-88) ERR Ref CB 359 .W67 2001
  • "The Early Church" (pp. 36-48) BCC Ref BX 880 .B53 2007
  • "Eastern Christianity" (vol. 4, pp. 2580-95) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Eastern Churches" (pp. 251-53) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "The Late Medieval Church" (pp. 391-94) ERR Ref CB 359 .W67 2001
  • "The Middle Ages" (pp. 49-62) BCC Ref BX 880 .B53 2007
  • "Modernity and Post-Modernity" (pp. 81-95) BCC Ref BX 880 .B53 2007
  • "Reform, Catholic" (vol. 3, pp. 1274-78) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "The Roman Catholic Church" (pp. 87-96) EWF Ref BL80.2 .E495 1988
  • "Roman Catholicism" (vol. 3, pp. 439-47) OER Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • "Roman Catholicism [First Edition]" (vol. 12, pp. 7873-88) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Roman Catholicism [Further Considerations]" (vol. 12, pp. 7888-92) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005


CATHOLICISM (AMERICAS)

  • "American Catholic Women, 1820-1900: From the Jacksonian Period to the Progressive Era" (vol. 1, pp. 148-60) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "American Catholic Women, 1900-1965" (vol. 1, pp. 187-200) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "American Catholic Women Since Vatican Council II" (vol. 1, pp. 200-09) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Catholic Church" [Latin America] (vol. 2, pp. 213-24) ELHC Ref F 1406 .E53 2008
  • "Catholicism" [United States] (vol. 2, pp. 67-71) DAH Ref E 174 .D52 2003
  • "Catholicism" [United States] (vol. 1, pp. 182-87) EUNC Ref E 169.1 .E626 2001
  • "Christianity: Catholicism" [Mexico, Central America] (vol. 1, pp. 206-10) OEMC Ref F 1218.6 .O95 2001
  • "Independent and Old Catholic Churches" [United States] (pp. 102-38) MEAR Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Latin America, Church in" (vol. F-N, pp. 2049-52) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Roman Catholic Church" [United States] (pp. 91-102) MEAR Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Roman Catholicism: African American Catholics" (vol. 4, pp. 1954-60) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: Catholics in the Atlantic Colonies" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1960-63) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: Catholics in the New Nation and the Early Republic" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1963-67) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: The Age of the Catholic Ghetto" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1976-83) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: The Cold War and Vatican II" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1984-88) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: Cultural Impact" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1996-2004) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: French Influence" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 2004-08) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: The Impact of Immigration in the Nineteenth Century" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1968-76) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: The Later Twentieth Century" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 1988-93) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholicism: Tradition and Heritage" [United States] (vol. 4, pp. 2004-08) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Roman Catholics" [women] [United States] (vol. 2, pp. 476-79) EAWR Ref BL 2525 .B45 2017
  • "Women in North American Catholicism" (vol. 1, pp. 127-33) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006


CATHOLICISM -- CRUSADES

  • "Crusade" (vol. 2, pp. 112-14) ETR Ref CB 361 .E52 1999
  • "Crusade, Concept of" (vol. 4, pp. 15-18) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Crusades" (vol. 5, pp. 310-15) EJ Ref DS 102.8 .E496 2007
  • "Crusades" (vol. 1, pp. 391-94) EMA Ref D 114 .E53 2000
  • "Crusades" (pp. 205-09) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Crusades" (pp. 277-79) MFE Ref DC 33.2 .M44 1995
  • "Crusades" (pp. 155-57) MGE Ref DD 126 .M43 2001
  • "Crusades" (pp. 205-08) MJC Ref DS 124 .M386 2003
  • "Crusades" (vol. 4, pp. 405-15) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Crusades" (vol. 2, pp. 9-14) OEIW Ref DS 35.53 .O96 2009
  • "Crusades" (vol. 1, pp. 437-41) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Crusades, The" (vol. 2, pp. 453-60) BEWH Ref D 23 .B45 2005
  • "Crusades, The" (pp. 241-44) OCMH Ref D 25 .A2 O94 2003
  • "The Crusades" (pp. 384-86) MEET Ref D 102 .M38 2002
  • "The Crusades: An Introduction" (vol. 1, pp. xliii-lx) CE Ref D 155 .C78 2006
  • "Crusades and Crusader States: 1212 to 1272" (vol. 4, pp. 49-54) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Crusades and Crusader States: Fourth" (vol. 4, pp. 41-49) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Crusades and Crusader States: Near East" (vol. 4, pp. 27-33) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Crusades and Crusader States: To 1192" (vol. 4, pp. 33-41) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Crusades: Christian Perspective" (vol. 3, pp. 2074-77) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Crusades: Muslim Perspective" (vol. 3, pp. 2077-78) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Crusades of the Later Middle Ages" (vol. 4, pp. 54-57) DMA Ref D 114 .D5


CATHOLICISM -- PAPACY

  • "Papacy" (vol. O-Z, pp. 2660-66) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Papacy" (vol. 2, pp. 860-66) EEC Ref BR 162.2 .E53 1997
  • "Papacy" (vol. 10, pp. 6965-76) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Papacy" (vol. 4, pp. 1717-21) ESTN Ref D 299 .E735 2006
  • "Papacy" (vol. 4, pp. 378-90) ETR Ref CB 361 .E52 1999
  • "Papacy" (vol. 10, pp. 829-54) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Papacy" (pp. 510-12) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Papacy" (vol. 3, pp. 203-07) OER Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • "Papacy, The" (pp. 605-08) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "The Papacy" (pp. 953-55) HEC Ref BX 841 .H37 1995
  • "The Papacy" (pp. 30-34) HLRE Ref CB 361 .S498 2005
  • "Papacy and Papal States" (vol. 4, pp. 380-92) EFS Ref D 209 .E97 2004
  • "Papacy, Origins and Development of" (vol. 9, pp. 363-79) DMA Ref D 114 .D5


CATHOLICISM -- SCHISMS

  • "Eastern Schism" (vol. 5, pp. 22-27) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Great Western Schism" (pp. 335-36) MCE Ref BX 841 .M63 2004
  • "Schism" (vol. 3, pp. 1393-98) PE Ref BX 955.2 .D53 2002
  • "Schism: Christian Schism" (vol. 12, pp. 8154-59) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Schism, Great" (vol. 11, pp. 38-42) DMA Ref D 114 .D5
  • "Western Schism" (vol. 14, pp. 691-94) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002


PROTESTANTISM

  • "Christianity: Evangelical Protestantism" [Mexico, Central America] (vol. 1, pp. 210-14) OEMC Ref F 1218.6 .O95 2001
  • "Other Protestant Churches and Christian-Related Movements" (pp. 126-36, 145-53) EWF Ref BL80.2 .E495 1988
  • "Protestant Women in the Mid-Atlantic Colonies" [United States] (vol. 1, pp. 228-36) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Protestantism" (vol. 6, pp. 515-18) DAH Ref E 174 .D52 2003
  • "Protestantism" (vol. 2, pp. 300-02) EAMH Ref E 174 .E53 2003
  • "Protestantism" (vol. 3, pp. 17-38) EUNC Ref E 169.1 .E626 2001
  • "Protestantism" (pp. 571-74) OCCT Ref BR 95 .O94 2000
  • "Protestantism: History of the Term" (vol. 3, pp. 357-59) OER Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • "Southern Colonial Protestant Women" [United States] (vol. 1, pp. 236-42) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Women and Protestantism in Colonial New England" (vol. 1, pp. 221-28) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006


MORMONISM

  • "Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints" (vol. 4, pp. 79-81) EAMH Ref E 174 .E53 2003
  • "Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints" (vol. 1, pp. 264-66) EARH Ref BL 2525 .Q44 2009
  • "Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints" (vol. 2, pp. 686-89) RW Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2010
  • "Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)" (vol. 1, pp. 103-05) EAWR Ref BL 2525 .B45 2017
  • "History of the Church" (vol. 2, pp. 598-647) EM Ref BX 8605.5 .E62 1992
  • "Latter-Day Saints" (vol. 3, pp. 1214-21) ERA Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010
  • "Latter-Day Saints, Church of Jesus Christ of" (vol. 5, pp. 53-55) DAH Ref E 174 .D52 2003
  • "Latter-Day Saints, Church of Jesus Christ of" (vol. F-N, pp. 2057-58) EDR Ref BR 95 .E494
  • "Latter-Day Saints, Church of Jesus Christ of" (vol. 8, pp. 372-74) NCE Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Latter-Day Saints Family" (pp. 635-60) MEAR Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
  • "Mormon Women" (vol. 2, pp. 718-27) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006
  • "Mormonism" (vol. 3, pp. 1313-17) EP Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
  • "Mormonism" (vol. 9, pp. 6192-95) ER Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
  • "Mormonism" (vol. 2, pp. 363-65) EUNC Ref E 169.1 .E626 2001
  • "Mormons" (vol. 2, pp. 676-78) EWWR Ref BL 458 .E53 1999
  • "Women in the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints" (vol. 2, pp. 728-32) EWR Ref BL 458 .E52 2006