Foundations of Education

SAGE Reference is proud to announce this major new collection in the fields of educational leadership and administration. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught on PGCE courses and practiced in schools and colleges today. With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners and association officials, the two-volumes of this Encyclopedia represent the most comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration that has, as yet, been compiled. Key features: - represents a `knowledge dynamic′ of the field by presenting ideas and perspectives that are in the minds, hearts, and aspirations of those practicing in the profession; - includes a wide range of topics covering teaching and learning, curriculum, psychology and motivation, budgeting and finance, law, statistics, research, personnel management, planning, supervision, and much more; - contains over 75 biographical sketches of people whose ideas, aspirations, and lives have contributed much to the profession; - animates reader′s thinking and defines possibilities by presenting terms, ideas, concepts, research, and theories that are circulating in the field. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration is a must-have reference for all academic libraries.

Education is a field sometimes beset by theories-of-the-day and with easy panaceas that overpromise the degree to which they can alleviate pressing educational problems. The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, this work offers essays on cutting-edge research and concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.Features: Over 300 signed entries by trusted experts in the field are organized into two volumes and overseen by a distinguished general editor and an international editorial board. Entries are followed by cross references and further reading suggestions. A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically The Reader's Guide, detailed index, and cross references combine for strong search-and-browse capabilities in the electronic version. Available in a choice of print or electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy is an ideal reference for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary educational theory. Key Themes: Aims of Education Classic Premodern Philosophers, Theories, and Theorists Curriculum Educational Research, Evaluation, and Testing Equity, Rights, Social Stratification, and Citizenship Higher Education Learners, Learning, and Teaching Liberal Education Moral, Religious, Spiritual, and Social/Cultural Values Multiculturalism and Special Populations Organization of Schooling Philosophy of Science, Sociology of Science, and Epistemology Philosophy of Education: Feminist Perspectives Philosophy of Education: Nonwestern Traditions Philosophy of Education: The Analytic Tradition Philosophy of Education: The Continental Traditions Philosophy of Education: The Political Theory Tradition Philosophy of Education: The Pragmatic Tradition Progressive Education Psychological Orientation in Educational Theory Social Sciences Orientation in Educational Theory

First Published in 1996. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

This encyclopaedia is a dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise. This is an encyclopaedia that is truly global and while focused mainly on the Western tradition is also respectful and representative of other knowledge traditions. It professes to understand the globalization of knowledge. It is unique in the sense that it is based on theoretical orientations and approaches to the main concepts and theories in education, drawing on the range of disciplines in the social sciences. The encyclopaedia privileges the "theory of practice", recognizing that education as a discipline and activity is mainly a set of professional practices that inherently involves questions of power and expertise for the transmission, socialization and critical debate of competing norms and values.

In the late 1950s plans were initiated to bring a higher level of professionalism to the training of educational professionals. New projects included introducing contemporary scholarship from the humanities and social sciences into colleges of education to revitalize the education knowledge base. In North America and the United Kingdom, analytical philosophers were recruited to inaugurate a 'new philosophy of education.' Analytical philosophy of education soon spread throughout the English speaking world.