Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Can't Find the Article?
If you know the journal title:
Use our Journal Finder.
If you can't find PDF Full Text:
Look for the Full Text Finder link and follow where it goes.
If you can't find the article online:
Request it through Article Request.
The assignment requires research on several different areas: an author’s biography, the historical context of when and where they lived, an analysis the literature of this author.
Literary criticism tends to be more academic, longer, and may be about a single work or an author's works as a whole.
To find literary criticism, search keywords like the title of the work (The Awakening), author's name (Chopin), and themes (masculinity).
Book reviews tend to be found for more current works (so it helps to know when a book was published) and are generally shorter. They identify major topics, arguments, and biases, and whether the author is successful in these.
Question: Where Do I Find Journal Articles?!
Answer: Databases! (You will not find journal articles on Google, sad to say...)
- Search for your author.
- Search for your author's work of interest.
- Use the suggested subjects that the database recommends.
- In nearly every database you will use, there will be a column (usually on the left-hand side) that you can use to narrow down your results.
Tips and Tricks for Easier Searching:
Databases To Try
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions are, well, very short introductions into many different subjects: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory. If you put an author or a literary work into the search bar, the results will show guides that give context to those works.
America: History and Life
Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Online access to scholarly articles in the arts and sciences.
Humanities International Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
American & English Literature
Full text of books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.
American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.