Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First things first: you're looking for literary criticism within journals, not book reviews. A work of literary criticism differs from a book review in that it is typically a more in-depth critique of a work, and it's most often intended for an academic audience.
To find literary criticism, search keywords like the title of the work (Wise Blood), author's name (O'Connor), and themes (religion).
Question: Where Do I Find Journal Articles?!
Answer: Databases! (You will not find journal articles on Google, sad to say...)
- Search for your author.
- Search for your author's work of interest.
- Use the suggested subjects that the database recommends.
- Choose source type Academic Journal.
- Search MLA International Bibliography and Humanities International Complete at the same time with CHOOSE DATABASES above the search box on the results page
- In Literary Reference Center Plus, limit to source type literary criticism.
Searching Tips and Tricks
Databases To Try
American & English Literature This link opens in a new window
Full text of books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online access to scholarly articles in the arts and sciences.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Can't Find the Article?
If you know the journal title:
Use our Journal Finder.
If you can't find PDF Full Text:
Look for the Full Text Finder link.
If the article isn't online:
Request it through Article Request.
Add LibKey Nomad to your web browser for easy access to full text!