CAT 591: Orientation to Research and Writing

This fascinating book provides a global exchange of information about counseling activities and services; counselor training; and existing professional practices, beliefs, and values. Native counselors and leading experts from 40 countries discuss the opportunities for growth in their countries and the challenges they face. After an introductory section that discusses global diversity themes and issues, chapters focus on key countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, North America, Oceania, and South and Central America. Each chapter covers the history and current state of counseling in the country, theories and techniques that have been shown to work best in meeting the needs of the population, diversity issues specific to the region, counselor education and training, and possibilities for the future of counseling in the country. A comprehensive list of international resources and counseling organizations is also included. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on wiley.com.  *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.  

"For anyone in a caring, facilitative or managing role, Counselling Skills provides a uniquely comprehensive, accessible and practical guide to interpersonal helping. It introduces a way of working that is both focused and personalised: tailored to an individual client's specific goals and preferences. The book will be invaluable to anyone who wants to help others deal with their problems." Mick Cooper, University of Strathclyde, UK "Not everyone possesses the skills required to ensure that professional communication is compassionate and supportive, but the skills can be learned and this book on Counselling Skills provides just the resource needed. Its authors have the experience as practitioners and teachers to imbue the text with wisdom derived from life, academia and counselling. The book is carefully crafted and beautifully written; it includes exercises and examples that enhance learning; it is comprehensive and completely relevant for anyone who seeks to use counselling skills competently in their work." Professor Sue Wheeler, University of Leicester, UK "The book offers a sound and accessible introduction for anyone considering formal counselling skills training ... As a bereavement counsellor I will gladly keep a place for this book on my bookshelf, as it offers a useful refresher in basic skills. I would certainly recommend it to colleagues within pastoral caring roles and other caring professions." Sally Smith, Counselling Psychology student at The University of Wolverhampton, UK This bestselling book is designed to help counselling trainees acquire and develop the skills and techniques needed to have therapeutic impact with their clients. It also provides those in the helping professions with an easy-to-follow model of 'embedded counselling' that provides tools and strategies for offering counselling relationships within a diversity of work settings. The new edition is thoroughly revised and features nine new chapters, addressing such topics as: an A-Z of practical counselling skills, dealing with difficult relationships, issues caused by cultural diversity or life transitions, and issues in loss and bereavement. The book also covers: Key counselling skills such as caring, listening, questioning and reframing, reflection, attunement to a client, challenging and giving advice Building a counselling relationship Developing understanding of clients' issues Resolving difficult feelings and emotions Ethical principles of counselling practice Working together to change behaviour Counselling Skills, 2nd edition is packed with exercises and information on recent studies, to help readers relate theory to their own practice. Written in an accessible, engaging style, with numerous case examples, this book is suitable for students taking courses or modules in counselling skills, counsellors in training, and any professionals who may provide counselling support within their roles, including teachers, doctors, community workers, social workers and nurses.

In this detailed examination of the expressive therapies, Dr. Gladding demonstrates how music, dance, imagery, visual arts, literature, drama, and humor can be used effectively in counseling. Combining history, theory, and application, he provides a rationale for using each art form with how-to strategies for working with clients of all ages and diverse cultural backgrounds to promote positive change and growth. This fourth edition includes Creative Reflection sections that give readers an opportunity to ponder their own creativity and, for greater ease of use, a new chapter that briefly describes each of the 117 exercises found in the book.