LibGuides: EN 202: Find Journal Articles

Journals

Journal Articles

Some search ideas to consider for this project:

Search keywords like the title of the work (Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West), author's name (O'Connor), The lyricist, Composer, and themes (Racism, Bullying). Rhetoric or Metaphor.

Question: Where Do I Find Journal Articles?!

Answer: Databases! (You will not find journal articles on Google, sad to say...)

Database Basics

Search for your author.
Search for your author's work of interest.
Use the suggested subjects that the database recommends.
Choose source type Academic Journal.
Search MLA International Bibliography and Humanities International Complete at the same time with CHOOSE DATABASES above the search box on the results page
In Literary Reference Center Plus, limit to source type literary criticism.

Searching Tips and Tricks

Databases To Try

American & English Literature This link opens in a new window
Books and other sources of poetry, drama, and prose. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on all aspects of modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles covering all areas of study.
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Biographies on people from antiquity to present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, books, and other resources on the humanities.
JSTOR (now includes Artstor) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources on art, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Can't Find the Article?

If you know the journal title:

Use our Journal Finder.

If you can't find PDF Full Text:

Look for the Full Text Finder link.

If the article isn't online:

Request it through Article Request.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad
Add LibKey Nomad to your web browser(s) for easy access to full text that the library purchases on your behalf!