Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIP 500/HI 454: Research Methods

Links

Cleveland Architects Database -- “A listing of architects and master builders that have worked in Cleveland, from the 1820’s until the 1930s.” The introduction lists the sources that were used in constructing the database.

Cleveland Digital Library -- Direct access to local history resources and links to institutional home pages around NE Ohio. (Now tabs in this Guide)

Cleveland Historical app -- CSU History Department's  mobile app of local history sites.

Cleveland Memory Project -- Tens of thousands of local history images and resources from CSU's Special Collections and its NE Ohio partners.

Cleveland Necrology File & News Index -- The Cleveland Necrology File, Cleveland Public Library's database of death notices, obituaries and cemetery records is now included within the Cleveland News Index .

Cleveland Public Library's Digital Gallery -- Digital material from the collections at CPL

Cleveland Restoration Society - "The Cleveland Restoration Society uses the powerful tool of historic preservation to revitalize our diverse communities, strengthen the regional economy, and enhance the quality of life in northeastern Ohio".

Digital Cleveland History Center -- Western Reserve Historical Society's on-line database of digital history resources.

EAD Finding Aid Repository -- Listing of archival collections and their contents held in repositories around greater Cleveland and the Ohio in general.

Encyclopedia of Cleveland History -- The current general history of greater Cleveland

ESRI’s interactive map -- Allows switching between historic maps to see how things changed. (Using Maps)

Plain Dealer on-line -- Search the Plain Dealer from 1845 to 1991.  Free if you have a Cleveland Public Library card, or from the PD for a modest fee if you don't. (Using Newspapers)

Ohio Memory Project -- Ohio Memory is the collaborative statewide digital library program of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio. On this free website, you can explore digital content from over 390 cultural heritage institutions representing all 88 of Ohio’s counties covering a wide range of topics from prehistory to present day.

National register of Historic Places

National Trust for Historic Preservation

Cleveland Digital Library Subject Links