Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When looking for symbols in culture, do a keyword search that includes your symbol as well as the word "symbol" with a truncation device at the end (*). For instance:
The asterisk will tell the database to include results containing the word symbol, symbols, symbolism, symbolic, symbology, etc.
Also try the keywords semiology and semiotics (the study of signs and symbols and their use or interpretation).
Subject headings are also important! Try typing DE "Signs & symbols" in the first keyword box and the symbol of your choice (ie, circles) in the second to get only articles pertaining to circles as symbols.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for articles in art and architecture with over 63,000 images.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than 2 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Can't Find the Article?
If you know the journal title:
Use our Journal Finder.
If you can't find PDF Full Text:
Look for the Full Text Finder link.
If the article isn't online:
Request it through Article Request.
Add LibKey Nomad to your web browser for easy access to full text!