Skip to Main Content

TPS 680: Social Justice

An introductory guide to research resources relating to social justice.

Reference Books

Why Use a Reference Book?

Reference books are designed to provide you with an introduction to a given topic. In other words, they serve as a starting point for students who don't already possess a foundational knowledge of that topic. Though reference books don't necessarily get cited in research papers, they certainly can play an important role in helping you early on in your research process.

Accessing Online Library Resources

Off-Campus Access Problems? 

If you're having problems with off-campus access to an online library resource (chiefly research databases, e-books, and streaming video), the most common reason is that it doesn't recognize you as an authorized user. An easy way to fix this problem is to go to the MyUrsuline webpage and log in. Then continue to use that same browser when accessing library resources.

Reference Books in the Library

 

REFERENCE BOOKS AVAILABLE IN THE LIBRARY (2nd floor)

 

CATHOLICISM

Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy (2007, 2012, 3 vols.)
Ref BX 1753 .E595 2007

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003, 15 vols.)
Ref BX 841 .N44 2002

The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought (1994)
Ref BX 1753 .N497 1994

 

RELIGION (GENERAL)

Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (2007, 2 vols.)
Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America (2006, 3 vols.)
Ref BL 458 .E52 2006

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (1999, 2 vols.)
Ref BL 458 .E53 1999

Religion and Everyday Life and Culture (2010, 3 vols.)
Ref BL 74 .R36 2010

 

ETHICS (GENERAL AND RELIGIOUS)

The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (2012, 4 vols.)
Ref BJ 63 .E44 2012

The International Encyclopedia of Ethics (2013, 9 vols.)
Ref BJ 63 .I58 2013

The Oxford Handbook of Theological Ethics (2007)
Ref BJ 1191 .O94 2007

The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics (1986)
Ref BJ1199 .W47 1986

 

SOCIAL ISSUES 

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2004, 4 vols.)
Ref HN 57 .E594 2004

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues (2011, 4 vols.)
Ref HN 59.2 .E343 2011

Encyclopedia of Social Problems (2008, 2 vols.)
Ref HN 28 .E55 2008

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia (2006, 7 vols. + index)
Ref HN 57 .S624 2006

 

RIGHTS (CIVIL AND HUMAN)

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties (2006, 3 vols.)
Ref KF 4748 .E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Human Rights (2009, 5 vols.)
Ref JC 571 .E673 2009

An Encyclopedia of Human Rights in the United States (2011, 2 vols.)
Ref KF 4747.5 .C37 2011