Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites for Finding Instruments
ETS Test Collection
Educational Testing Service (ETS) achievement tests and measurement devices database. Contains information for acquiring and/or purchasing tests in education. Some are standardized tests – many are research instruments, some standardized on very small populations.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
The "Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences" (TMSS) is an index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and so on, that may be found in one or more reference resources. This index was originally created to help students who are writing academic papers.
TMSS: Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
The TMdb is an aid in locating known assessment instruments. Entries include only instrument title, author, date, & pages located in a larger compilation.
MIDSS-Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences
A repository for Instruments used to collection data across the social sciences.
SDSU Test Finder
Provided via San Diego State University. This database Indexes complete tests found in journal articles, reference books, and other locations in the SDSU Library. Also includes instruments available on the Web.
NOTE: This database relects information available through 2008 only. If you are looking for a more recent instrument, please check other resources.
Measuring Quality in Higher Education
A directory or inventory of tests that measure quality in higher education useful for faculty, staff and researchers that updates “Measuring Quality: Surveys and Other Assessments of College Quality” (Borden & Owens, 2001).
HSRR- Health Services and Sciences Research Review
Produced by the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology. This website provides information about research datasets and instruments that are used in Health Services Research, Behavioral and Social Science, and Public Health. This tool does NOT contain the actual tests and measures.
CEEE Test Database (George Washington University: Center for Equity and Excellence in Education)
This is a collection of abstracts and descriptions of almost 200 tests commonly used with Limited English Proficient students.
Full Text Instruments
Unless explicitly stated otherwise, seek permission before using the instruments on these or any website.