LibGuides: SW 318: Policy, Programs, and Issues: Agency & Think Tank Reports

Social Welfare Agencies and Think-Tank Reports

Think Tanks, advocacy organizations, and foundations often provide policy research reports. Here are a few selected national think tanks/research institutes that work in areas relevant to social welfare.

*Please be aware that think tanks may be biased in one direction or another, so it's a good idea to investigate them and exert caution when using information from them in your research.

American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
Research in economics and trade, social welfare, U.S. politics, international affairs and defense policies from a conservative think tank.
American Public Human Services Association
Provides information to “develop, promote and implement public human service policies that improve the health and well-being of families, children and adults.”
Annie E. Casey Foundation
Improving the lives of millions of children by producing evidence on which ideas and programs work and by advancing sound policy reforms.
Annual Statistical Supplement- FIX THIS SHARON
report from the Social Security Administration on entitlements. Start with "Highlights and Trends" section.
Brookings Institution
Contains press releases, research summaries, articles, policy updates, and policy briefs on foreign policy, economic issues, and governmental studies.
Campaign for Youth Justice
Efforts at CFYJ focus on youth under 18 years old and their families who are no longer automatically prosecuted, sentenced, or incarcerated in the adult criminal justice system
Care2
Care2 is a social enterprise, working with over 2,700 nonprofits and mission-based brands by connecting them to supporters who are passionate about the causes they support.
Cato Institute
The Cato Institute is an independent, nonpartisan 501(c)(3) research institution located in Washington, DC. Since 1977, Cato has been a principled, credible source for research, analysis, and writing on public policy. We safeguard our intellectual independence rigorously with dedicated institutional policies that enable our scholars to pursue their work without outside influence.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is an independent, nonpartisan policy institute that is dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action.
Center for Law and Social Policy
CLASP is a national, nonpartisan, anti-poverty nonprofit advancing policy solutions to improve the lives of people with low incomes. We develop practical yet visionary strategies for reducing poverty, promoting economic opportunity, and addressing institutional and racial barriers faced by people of color.
Center for the Study of Social Policy
CSSP is a national, non-profit policy organization that connects community action, public system reform, and policy change to create a fair and just society in which all children and families thrive. We work to achieve a racially, economically, and socially just society in which all children and families thrive.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
A nonpartisan research and policy institute that advances federal and state policies to help build a nation where everyone — regardless of income, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, ZIP code, immigration status, or disability status — has the resources they need to thrive and share in the nation’s prosperity.
Center on Urban Poverty and Community Development (Greater Cleveland Area)
Addresses the problems of persistent and concentrated urban poverty and maintains NEO CANDO, a statistics database on income, births, deaths, education, crime, and housing in Cleveland neighborhoods.
The Coalition on Human Needs (CHN)
Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations.
Heritage Foundation
Includes commentaries and working papers to formulate and promote conservative public policies.
Management of Social Transformations (MOST) Programme
Part of UNESCO, MOST establishes links between researchers and policymakers. It features Best Practices in poverty eradication, social exclusion, and indigenous knowledge
Manhattan Institute for Policy Research
Contains editorials from other outlets on policy issues and summarizes its own projects in education reform, welfare reform, crime reduction and faith-based initiatives.
Manpower Demonstration Research Corporation (MDRC)
This nonprofit, nonpartisan social policy research organization distributes working papers and findings relating to policies and programs for low-income people.
National Coalition for the Homeless (NCH)
The NCH is a national advocacy network of homeless persons, activists, and others committed to ending homelessness through public education, policy advocacy, and grassroots organizations.
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
A bipartisan organization dedicated to serving the lawmakers and staffs of the nation’s 50 states, its commonwealths and territories.
National Council on Disability
Open Secrets:Center for Responsive Politics
Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, OpenSecrets is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
Pew Research Center
A “nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.”
Public Agenda
Addresses a wide range of issues through its research and citizen education work, including school and health care reform, national security, AIDS, crime, economic competitiveness and the environment.
RAND Corporation
RAND is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous.
Sentencing Project
University of Illinois’ Institute of Government and Public Affairs (IGPA)
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity.
Vote Smart
an easy to use database where you can look up the voting record of your state and federal representatives.
U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs.

Addiction

National Institute on Drug Abuse

Aging Think Tanks

American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Resources relating to caregiving, Medicare, nursing homes, and research on aging, as well as AARP’s legislative and policy efforts.

Children, Youth & Families

The Center for Economic Security and Opportunity
e Center for Economic Security and Opportunity (formerly the Center on Children and Families) produces data-driven, non-partisan analysis to address the United States’ most challenging social policy questions.
Child Welfare League of America

Health

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Part of U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Administers Medicare, Medicaid and the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and provides statistics, laws, eligibility requirements, and research related to these three programs.
Kaiser Foundation's Health Reform Gateway

Mental Health

SAMHSA (Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration)