LibGuides: PS 322: Research Methods: Main Databases for Psychology

Main Databases for Psychology

The following databases are geared towards psychology. Here you will find articles, white papers, dissertations, and more in the discipline of Psychology.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Research to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
n the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, psychiatry and communications. Includes journals and dissertations from 1967 to the present in one database, and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present in a second database.The databases are in English and the journals covered are in 30 languages from over 45 countries. The databases provide citations, content summaries (for all but the dissertations), and indexing using terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Book records also contain the book's table of contents.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Databases

Most of the databases listed here are hosted by EBSCO. You may already be familiar with EBSCO. It is important to note that EBSCO is not a database. It is a platform through which you can access a variety of databases that UTA Libraries has access to.

One of the benefits of the EBSCO platform is that you can search multiple databases at the same time. If you click PsycINFO below, the link will take you only to the PsycINFO database in EBSCO. However, once there, you can "Choose Databases" and add many of the others from this list.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Research to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
n the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, psychiatry and communications. Includes journals and dissertations from 1967 to the present in one database, and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present in a second database.The databases are in English and the journals covered are in 30 languages from over 45 countries. The databases provide citations, content summaries (for all but the dissertations), and indexing using terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Book records also contain the book's table of contents.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Or look at speciality databases for specialized topics

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For research dealing with patients in hospitals, care facilities and much more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
For Research that deals with schools from preschool to higher education.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on LGBT issues.

What are Peer Reviewed, Scholarly, or Refereed Articles?

Tips on PsycINFO

Quick Reference Guide for APA PsycINFO
This quick reference guide will demonstrate how to search APA PsycInfo in Advanced Search mode. APA PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations for scholarly literature in the behavioral and social sciences. It contains a rich, interdisciplinary backfile that includes 4.8 million records.
APA PsycINFO Users Guide
Basic and Advanced tips on better searching in PsycINFO.

Find Full Text

Find the Full Text

When you're going through your search results, there are a few ways to find the full-text of an article:

	Click on the PDF Full Text link.
	Click on the Find it! button to find the article through another resource.
Journal Finder	Don't see a PDF Full Text link or Find it! button? Try searching for the journal title (i.e. American Journal of Nursing) in Journal Finder.
Article Request	Still can't find the full-text?! Submit an Article Request form. Please note that it may take several days to process your request!

LibKey Nomad Description

Find an article you like with Google Scholar? Is it stuck behind a paywall?

LibKey Nomad easily connects researchers to full text articles that the library has provided access to when using sites such as Google Scholar, PubMed, websites, and publisher pages; instantly and in one-click!

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi browsers.

At this time, LibKey Nomad is only for computers and laptops. It does not work on phones or tablets.

Download Nomad to your device