LibGuides: US 350: Gardens of Heian Japan: Find Articles

Keywords

You can try searching the databases using your specific garden name (i.e. Tsukiyama garden), but chances are there won't be many results. To get more results, use broad keywords!

Try the following keyword strings in your database search:

(garden* OR landscape) AND Japan*
Japan* History
Japan* Culture

Search Tips:

Use an asterisk * to find word variants (ex: garden* = gardens, gardening, gardener, etc.)

Search Smarter

Learn how to use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) in your search in this Boolean Searching presentation:

Search for Articles

Try searching in one of the databases below! Use one or two keywords for best results.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online access to scholarly articles in the arts and sciences.

Apply Limiters

To narrow down your search results, try using the following limiters:

Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
English Language
Full Text

Find the Full Text

When you're going through your search results, there are a few ways to find the full-text of an article:

	Click on the PDF Full Text link.
	Click on the Find it! button to find the article through another resource.
Journal Finder	Don't see a PDF Full Text link or Find it! button? Try searching for the journal title (i.e. American Journal of Nursing) in Journal Finder.
Article Request	Still can't find the full-text?! Submit an Article Request form. Please note that it may take several days to process your request!

Article Citations

Creating MLA citations for articles is easy! The database does most of the work for you!

Follow these steps to find the citation for an article in the database:

From your Search Results List, click on the article title. This will open up a detailed record view of the article.
Look for Tools over on the right side of the page.
Under Tools, click on Cite. The button looks like this:
A list of Citation Formats should open up. Scroll down to MLA.
Copy & paste the citation into your Works Cited page.
Check for errors! Always make sure your citation is formatted correctly.