Skip to main content

UC 201: Annotated Bibliography Project

Get Library Help!

Get Library Help

Phone   Call: 440-449-4202
Cell Phone

  Text: 440-306-7068

Chat   Chat with a Librarian
 
Mail   Email a Librarian
People   Make an Appointment
Open Book  Book a Study Room

What is an Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

A bibliography is an organized list of sources (books, journal articles, web sources, etc.) formatted in a particular citation style (such as MLA, APA, or Chicago).  An annotation is a descriptive paragraph.  So, an annotated bibliography is a bibliography that contains a descriptive paragraph about each of the sources listed in the bibliography.

Why write an annotated bibliography?

Annotated bibliographies demonstrate to your readers the quality and depth of the research you have done for your paper.  The annotations also provide the reader with more information on which of your sources they should read to learn more about specific aspects of your topic.

When preparing for a research paper, writing annotations for your sources compels you to read and understand each source more critically. Annotations help you to examine the relevance and unique contribution of each source to your topic while at the same time, may identify gaps in your research for further study.

Use an annotated bibliography to:

  • Demonstrate to your readers the quality and depth of research you have done on a topic
  • Critically evaluate your sources to determine any gaps in research

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography

Useful Internet Resources: